Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Fludara: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,930 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Also reported as Fludara /01004602/.

2,930
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 130 a year
22
reports, 12 months to June 2026
6 in the 12 months before
99.1%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
42.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,244 reports · not verified by FDA

2,930 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Fludara" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 533 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 22 reports listed it, up 267% from 6 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 130 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are acute graft versus host disease (8.3%), febrile neutropenia (8.2%) and pyrexia (7.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 658 different terms appear across these reports. Acute graft versus host disease is recorded in 8.3% of these reports, against 0% of all reports in the database.

99.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 42.5% record death among the outcomes and 35.9% record hospitalisation, as reported. 58.5% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (26.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

047Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 42022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 7Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 7Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 4Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 4May 2026: 2Jun 2026: 4

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

04919822004: 15320042005: 1002006: 1202007: 10420072008: 1402009: 2622010: 20320102011: 9822012: 2182013: 11720132014: 842015: 612016: 6520162017: 522018: 502019: 4020192020: 352021: 632022: 2920222023: 92024: 202025: 1020252026: 13

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Fludara reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Acute graft versus host disease8.3%242
  2. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells8.2%241
  3. Pyrexiafever7.6%224
  4. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection5.5%161
  5. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell4.8%141
  6. Chronic graft versus host disease4.7%139
  7. Pneumonialung infection4.5%132
  8. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells3.9%114
  9. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.8%112
  10. Infectionan infection, type not specified3.5%103
  11. Acute graft versus host disease in skin3.3%96
  12. Nauseafeeling sick2.9%86
  13. Thrombocytopenialow platelets2.9%85
  14. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.9%84
  15. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen2.7%78
  16. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.4%71
  17. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count2.4%70
  18. Vomitingbeing sick2.3%66
  19. Renal failurekidney failure2.2%64
  20. Anaemialow red blood cells2%59
  21. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count2%58
  22. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.9%56

Top 30 of 658 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death42.5%1,244
Life-threatening10.9%318
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)35.9%1,052
Disability2.7%78
Congenital anomaly0%1
Other serious55%1,612
Not serious0.9%26

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.4%41
2 to 115.4%158
12 to 173.6%105
18 to 4411.2%328
45 to 6426.1%764
65 to 7414.8%434
75 and over4.9%143
Age not given32.7%957

Patient sex

Female33.8%989
Male44.4%1,301
Not given21.8%640

Who reported

Physician58.5%1,715
Pharmacist2.3%67
Other health professional25.8%756
Lawyer0.1%2
Consumer or non-health professional7.6%223
Not given5.7%167

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 18.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Chronic lymphocytic leukaemia64922.2%
Bone marrow conditioning regimen46215.8%
Stem cell transplant30310.3%
Acute myeloid leukaemia1434.9%
Allogenic bone marrow transplantation therapy752.6%
Non-hodgkin's lymphoma742.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,930 reports.

In context

MeasureFludaraAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,93020,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months221,332,454
Marked serious99.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports42591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports359213
Consumer-filed share7.6%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsAcute graft versus host disease 8.3%0%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Fludara reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Fludara?

2,930 reports list Fludara as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 22 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 533 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Fludara reports?

acute graft versus host disease (8.3%), febrile neutropenia (8.2%), pyrexia (7.6%), sepsis (5.5%) and graft versus host disease (5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Fludara was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

99.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 42.5% of reports include death and 35.9% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (58.5%), other health professional (25.8%) and consumer or non-health professional (7.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Fludara rising?

22 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 267% from 6 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Fludara was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Fludara?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Fludara as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (533) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.