Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Depodur: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,720 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2025.

1,720
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 78 a year
1
reports, 12 months to June 2026
24 in the 12 months before
98.4%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
17.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
305 reports · not verified by FDA

1,720 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Depodur" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from July 2004 to August 2025. A further 0 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1 report listed it, down 96% from 24 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 78 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are dependence (84.7%), overdose (45.2%) and death (16.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 197 different terms appear across these reports. Dependence is recorded in 84.7% of these reports, against 0.3% of all reports in the database.

98.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 17.7% record death among the outcomes and 4.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 91.2% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (2.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0267534Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 20Jul 2023: 8Aug 2023: 272Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 286Nov 2023: 534Dec 2023: 2642024Jan 2024: 13Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 9Apr 2024: 117May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 10Jul 2024: 9Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 8Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 2Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

06941,3882004: 220042005: 612006: 3820062007: 232008: 1320082009: 62010: 220102011: 32023: 1,38820232024: 1802025: 42025

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Depodur reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Dependence84.7%1,457
  2. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount45.2%777
  3. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term16.6%286
  4. Depressionlow mood4.7%80
  5. Ill-defined disordera condition that was not clearly described4.1%71
  6. Respiratory depressionslow or shallow breathing3.4%59
  7. Anxietyanxiety3.4%58
  8. Constipationconstipation1.5%25
  9. Hypotensionlow blood pressure1.5%25
  10. Nauseafeeling sick1.5%25
  11. Amnesiamemory loss1.4%24
  12. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine1.3%23
  13. Painpain, site not specified1.3%23
  14. Respiratory rate decreased1.3%23
  15. Somnolencedrowsiness1.2%21
  16. Post procedural complicationa complication after a procedure1.2%20
  17. Suicide attempta suicide attempt1.1%19
  18. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy1%18
  19. Sedationdrowsiness from a medicine1%18
  20. Insomniadifficulty sleeping0.8%14
  21. Loss of consciousnesspassing out0.8%13

Top 30 of 197 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death17.7%305
Life-threatening2.6%45
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)4.4%75
Disability0.3%6
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious91.7%1,578
Not serious1.6%28

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 440.6%11
45 to 642.7%47
65 to 742.4%41
75 and over1.5%26
Age not given92.7%1,595

Patient sex

Female42.2%726
Male53.5%921
Not given4.2%73

Who reported

Physician3.8%66
Pharmacist3.5%60
Other health professional1.2%21
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional91.2%1,569
Not given0.2%4

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 98.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Postoperative analgesia412.4%
Pain231.3%
Procedural pain231.3%
Knee arthroplasty70.4%
Pain management60.3%
Anaesthesia30.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,720 reports.

In context

MeasureDepodurAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,72020,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months11,332,454
Marked serious98.4%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports17791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports44213
Consumer-filed share91.2%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDependence 84.7%0.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Depodur reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Depodur?

1,720 reports list Depodur as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 0 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Depodur reports?

dependence (84.7%), overdose (45.2%), death (16.6%), depression (4.7%) and ill-defined disorder (4.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Depodur was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

98.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 17.7% of reports include death and 4.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (91.2%), physician (3.8%) and pharmacist (3.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Depodur rising?

1 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 96% from 24 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Depodur was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Depodur?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Depodur as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (0) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.