Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Corticosteroid: adverse event reports filed with FDA

920 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Also reported as Corticosteroid Nos, Corticosteroid Unspecified.

920
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 41 a year
64
reports, 12 months to June 2026
47 in the 12 months before
91%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
19%
record death among outcomes, as reported
175 reports · not verified by FDA

920 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Corticosteroid" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 3,284 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 64 reports listed it, up 36% from 47 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 41 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are off label use (10.8%), drug ineffective (6.7%) and pyrexia (5.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 412 different terms appear across these reports. Off label use is recorded in 10.8% of these reports, against 4.1% of all reports in the database.

91% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 19% record death among the outcomes and 37.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 35.7% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (28.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0918Jul 2021: 5Aug 2021: 6Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 32022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 5Mar 2022: 7Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 62023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 6Jun 2023: 4Jul 2023: 12Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 8Dec 2023: 52024Jan 2024: 6Feb 2024: 8Mar 2024: 14Apr 2024: 6May 2024: 10Jun 2024: 10Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 10Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 7Nov 2024: 3Dec 2024: 62025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 3Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 4Nov 2025: 10Dec 2025: 42026Jan 2026: 5Feb 2026: 18Mar 2026: 4Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 6Jun 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

044872004: 2120042005: 392006: 232007: 1720072008: 412009: 412010: 5820102011: 472012: 492013: 7420132014: 412015: 282016: 2420162017: 232018: 342019: 2020192020: 352021: 432022: 4120222023: 562024: 872025: 4320252026: 35

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Corticosteroid reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label10.8%99
  2. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected6.7%62
  3. Pyrexiafever5.3%49
  4. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label2.9%27
  5. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines2.5%23
  6. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse2.4%22
  7. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.3%21
  8. Cytomegalovirus infection reactivation2.2%20
  9. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection2.1%19
  10. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure2%18
  11. Fatiguetiredness1.8%17
  12. Painpain, site not specified1.8%17
  13. Vomitingbeing sick1.8%17
  14. Covid-19COVID-19 infection1.7%16
  15. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1.7%16
  16. Erythemaskin redness1.7%16
  17. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function1.6%15
  18. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.6%15
  19. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen1.6%15
  20. Anaemialow red blood cells1.5%14
  21. Nauseafeeling sick1.5%14
  22. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell1.5%14
  23. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.4%13
  24. Pneumonialung infection1.4%13
  25. Blood glucose increasedraised blood sugar reading1.3%12
  26. Coughcough1.3%12
  27. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung1.3%12
  28. Somnolencedrowsiness1.3%12
  29. Arthralgiajoint pain1.2%11

Top 30 of 412 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death19%175
Life-threatening6.4%59
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)37.4%344
Disability3.5%32
Congenital anomaly0.7%6
Other serious66.2%609
Not serious9%83

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 22.8%26
2 to 114.1%38
12 to 172.7%25
18 to 4417.8%164
45 to 6428.3%260
65 to 7410.7%98
75 and over4.8%44
Age not given28.8%265

Patient sex

Female45.2%416
Male40.7%374
Not given14.1%130

Who reported

Physician33.5%308
Pharmacist2.6%24
Other health professional35.7%328
Lawyer0.1%1
Consumer or non-health professional15.5%143
Not given12.6%116

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 32.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Prophylaxis against transplant rejection333.6%
Immunosuppressant drug therapy222.4%
Immunosuppression222.4%
Renal transplant192.1%
Liver transplant131.4%
Rheumatoid arthritis111.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 920 reports.

In context

MeasureCorticosteroidAll reports
Reports as suspect product92020,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months641,332,454
Marked serious91%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports19091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports374213
Consumer-filed share15.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsOff label use 10.8%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Corticosteroid reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Corticosteroid?

920 reports list Corticosteroid as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 64 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 3,284 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Corticosteroid reports?

off label use (10.8%), drug ineffective (6.7%), pyrexia (5.3%), product use in unapproved indication (2.9%) and drug interaction (2.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Corticosteroid was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

91% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 19% of reports include death and 37.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (35.7%), physician (33.5%) and consumer or non-health professional (15.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Corticosteroid rising?

64 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 36% from 47 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Corticosteroid was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Corticosteroid?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Corticosteroid as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (3,284) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.