Reported Reactions

Drugs › CD52-directed cytolytic antibody

Brand name · Alemtuzumab

Campath: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,751 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: CD52-directed cytolytic antibody. Also reported as Campath 30.

2,751
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 122 a year
38
reports, 12 months to June 2026
32 in the 12 months before
91.5%
marked serious by the reporter
86% across the class
34.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
945 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 2,751 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Campath (alemtuzumab) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (345) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 38 reports listed it, up 19% from 32 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 122 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 15.9% of the reports for the CD52-directed cytolytic antibody class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are pyrexia (9.1%), cytomegalovirus infection (7.4%) and death (7.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 687 different terms appear across these reports. Pyrexia is recorded in 9.1% of these reports, about the same share as in the median CD52-directed cytolytic antibody drug (9.1%).

91.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (86% across the class); 34.4% record death among the outcomes and 36% record hospitalisation, as reported. 42.9% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (23%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0713Jul 2021: 3Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 82022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 8Aug 2022: 4Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 9Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 2Feb 2024: 5Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 7Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 13Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 9Sep 2025: 4Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 6Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02454902004: 13020042005: 1202006: 1292007: 15420072008: 2212009: 2122010: 17620102011: 4902012: 1442013: 18820132014: 1552015: 1082016: 7420162017: 802018: 562019: 6320192020: 532021: 382022: 3220222023: 402024: 282025: 5320252026: 6

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Campath reports recording the termmedian drug in cd52-directed cytolytic antibody

  1. Pyrexiafever9.1%251
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term7.3%200
  3. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label6.7%185
  4. Pneumonialung infection4.2%115
  5. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell4.1%112
  6. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells3.7%101
  7. Hypotensionlow blood pressure3.3%91
  8. Thrombocytopenialow platelets3.2%89
  9. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells3.2%88
  10. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection3.1%86
  11. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.8%78
  12. Chillschills or shivering2.8%76
  13. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.7%73
  14. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.6%72
  15. Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.6%71
  16. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen2.5%69
  17. Infectionan infection, type not specified2.4%67
  18. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count2.4%67
  19. Anaemialow red blood cells2.1%59
  20. Renal failurekidney failure2.1%59
  21. Nauseafeeling sick2%56
  22. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2%54
  23. General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health1.9%52
  24. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin1.8%50
  25. Fatiguetiredness1.7%48
  26. Pleural effusionfluid around the lung1.7%47

Top 30 of 687 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 3 drugs in the cd52-directed cytolytic antibody class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death34.4%945
Life-threatening5.2%144
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)36%990
Disability1.3%36
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious49.2%1,354
Not serious8.5%235

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 17,330 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 22.7%74
2 to 113.1%86
12 to 172.4%65
18 to 4412.3%337
45 to 6423%633
65 to 7411.3%310
75 and over6.5%179
Age not given38.8%1,067

Patient sex

Female31.3%862
Male46.7%1,284
Not given22%605

Who reported

Physician42.9%1,181
Pharmacist7.2%198
Other health professional32%880
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional10.4%286
Not given7.5%206

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 49.4% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Chronic lymphocytic leukaemia57721%
Bone marrow conditioning regimen1696.1%
Stem cell transplant1545.6%
Multiple sclerosis983.6%
T-cell prolymphocytic leukaemia692.5%
Renal transplant401.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,751 reports.

In context

MeasureCampathCD52-directed cytolytic antibodyAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,75117,33020,646,523
Share of that pool—15.9%0%
Reports, latest 12 months38—1,332,454
Marked serious91.5%86%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports34414391
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports360326213
Consumer-filed share10.4%22.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPyrexia 9.1%median 9.1%1.6%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the cd52-directed cytolytic antibody class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Alemtuzumabgeneric8,61042695.8%
Lemtradabrand5,9694969.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Campath reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Campath?

2,751 reports list Campath as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 38 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 345 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Campath reports?

pyrexia (9.1%), cytomegalovirus infection (7.4%), death (7.3%), off label use (6.7%) and pneumonia (4.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Campath was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

91.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 34.4% of reports include death and 36% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (42.9%), other health professional (32%) and consumer or non-health professional (10.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Campath rising?

38 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 19% from 32 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Campath was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Campath?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Campath as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (345) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.