Reported Reactions

Drugs › Calcium channel blocker

Brand name · Amlodipine and atorvastatin

Caduet: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,760 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Calcium channel blocker.

1,760
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 80 a year
3
reports, 12 months to June 2026
10 in the 12 months before
66%
marked serious by the reporter
87.7% across the class
9.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
172 reports · not verified by FDA

Between August 2004 and June 2026, 1,760 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Caduet (amlodipine and atorvastatin) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (2,021) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 3 reports listed it, down 70% from 10 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 80 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 2.3% of the reports for the calcium channel blocker class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are malaise (5.2%), death (4.5%) and dizziness (4.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 340 different terms appear across these reports. Malaise is recorded in 5.2% of these reports, about the same share as in the median calcium channel blocker drug (5.5%).

66% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (87.7% across the class); 9.8% record death among the outcomes and 14.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 56.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (17.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

059Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 4Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 4Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 8May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 9Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 22024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 2Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02094182004: 320042005: 332006: 462007: 8520072008: 612009: 512010: 41820102011: 1402012: 2082013: 15920132014: 922015: 862016: 6220162017: 412018: 312019: 5320192020: 882021: 392022: 2720222023: 222024: 92025: 520252026: 1

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Caduet reports recording the termmedian drug in calcium channel blocker

  1. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5.2%91
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.5%80
  3. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness4.3%75
  4. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure4.2%74
  5. Myalgiamuscle pain3.7%65
  6. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading3.6%63
  7. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands3.4%60
  8. Painpain, site not specified3%53
  9. Headachehead pain2.9%51
  10. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.8%50
  11. Falla fall2.8%49
  12. Fatiguetiredness2.7%47
  13. Gait disturbancedifficulty walking2.4%43
  14. Muscle spasmsmuscle cramps2.4%43
  15. Blood cholesterol increasedraised cholesterol2.4%42
  16. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.4%42
  17. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg2.3%41
  18. Type 2 diabetes mellitustype 2 diabetes2.1%37
  19. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.9%33
  20. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine1.9%33
  21. Joint swellinga swollen joint1.9%33
  22. Feeling abnormalfeeling odd or not right1.8%32
  23. Diabetes mellitusdiabetes1.7%30
  24. Rashskin rash1.7%30
  25. Nauseafeeling sick1.6%28
  26. Muscular weaknessmuscle weakness1.5%27
  27. Myocardial infarctionheart attack1.5%27

Top 30 of 340 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 6 drugs in the calcium channel blocker class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death9.8%172
Life-threatening1.3%23
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)14.7%259
Disability2.6%45
Congenital anomaly0.1%1
Other serious50.6%891
Not serious34%598

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 76,049 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 441.4%25
45 to 6416.5%290
65 to 7413.4%235
75 and over17.4%306
Age not given51.4%904

Patient sex

Female51.6%908
Male36.6%645
Not given11.8%207

Who reported

Physician18.6%328
Pharmacist3.5%62
Other health professional15.5%272
Lawyer1.7%30
Consumer or non-health professional56.1%988
Not given4.5%80

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 70.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hypertension42324%
Blood cholesterol increased1297.3%
Hypercholesterolaemia321.8%
Hyperlipidaemia311.8%
Blood pressure abnormal291.6%
Blood cholesterol211.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,760 reports.

In context

MeasureCaduetCalcium channel blockerAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,76076,04920,646,523
Share of that pool—2.3%0%
Reports, latest 12 months3—1,332,454
Marked serious66%87.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports9818791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports147391213
Consumer-filed share56.1%25.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsMalaise 5.2%median 5.5%2.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the calcium channel blocker class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Amlodipinegeneric52,2164,32493.2%
Norvascbrand12,36212469%
Diltiazem hydrochloridegeneric6,08250488.3%
Verapamil hydrochloridegeneric2,54715687.5%
Cardizembrand1,0821568.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Caduet reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Caduet?

1,760 reports list Caduet as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 3 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,021 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Caduet reports?

malaise (5.2%), death (4.5%), dizziness (4.3%), hypertension (4.2%) and myalgia (3.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Caduet was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

66% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 9.8% of reports include death and 14.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (56.1%), physician (18.6%) and other health professional (15.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Caduet rising?

3 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 70% from 10 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Caduet was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Caduet?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Caduet as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,021) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.