Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Betamethasone: adverse event reports filed with FDA

7,114 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Also reported as Betamethasone Ointment.

7,114
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 317 a year
512
reports, 12 months to June 2026
671 in the 12 months before
85.7%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
15%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,068 reports · not verified by FDA

Between February 2004 and June 2026, 7,114 adverse event reports received by FDA list betamethasone, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (8,379) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 512 reports listed it, down 24% from 671 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 317 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug ineffective (23%), foetal exposure during pregnancy (17.9%) and maternal exposure during pregnancy (16.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,281 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 23% of these reports, against 6.3% of all reports in the database.

85.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 15% record death among the outcomes and 33.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 61.4% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (25.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0108216Jul 2021: 58Aug 2021: 58Sep 2021: 72Oct 2021: 69Nov 2021: 56Dec 2021: 772022Jan 2022: 45Feb 2022: 54Mar 2022: 75Apr 2022: 74May 2022: 63Jun 2022: 59Jul 2022: 111Aug 2022: 47Sep 2022: 40Oct 2022: 40Nov 2022: 52Dec 2022: 902023Jan 2023: 126Feb 2023: 105Mar 2023: 70Apr 2023: 124May 2023: 111Jun 2023: 125Jul 2023: 83Aug 2023: 216Sep 2023: 201Oct 2023: 102Nov 2023: 64Dec 2023: 922024Jan 2024: 75Feb 2024: 72Mar 2024: 74Apr 2024: 63May 2024: 79Jun 2024: 32Jul 2024: 52Aug 2024: 31Sep 2024: 44Oct 2024: 49Nov 2024: 54Dec 2024: 1212025Jan 2025: 62Feb 2025: 48Mar 2025: 46Apr 2025: 39May 2025: 23Jun 2025: 102Jul 2025: 66Aug 2025: 52Sep 2025: 52Oct 2025: 49Nov 2025: 31Dec 2025: 362026Jan 2026: 29Feb 2026: 45Mar 2026: 28Apr 2026: 39May 2026: 33Jun 2026: 52

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

07101,4192004: 2620042005: 342006: 422007: 9320072008: 502009: 452010: 3620102011: 692012: 1132013: 10020132014: 1162015: 1132016: 14920162017: 1862018: 3812019: 50620192020: 5472021: 7612022: 75020222023: 1,4192024: 7462025: 60620252026: 226

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Betamethasone reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected23%1,635
  2. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine17.9%1,271
  3. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy16.5%1,171
  4. Premature babya baby born early16.3%1,162
  5. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label12.5%892
  6. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label9.8%695
  7. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse9.6%684
  8. Nauseafeeling sick8.3%591
  9. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy7.9%560
  10. Dyspnoeashortness of breath6.9%494
  11. General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health6.6%472
  12. Vomitingbeing sick6.3%451
  13. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure6.2%438
  14. Pneumonialung infection6%430
  15. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg6%427
  16. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain5.7%402
  17. Urticariahives5.4%384
  18. Pyrexiafever5.4%383
  19. Rashskin rash5.3%378
  20. Dry mouthdry mouth5.1%364
  21. Stomatitissore mouth5%356
  22. Muscle spasmsmuscle cramps4.9%347
  23. Sleep disordera sleep problem4.8%343
  24. Lung disordera lung problem, type not specified4.8%339
  25. Painpain, site not specified4.6%330
  26. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated4.6%329
  27. Constipationconstipation4.5%322

Top 30 of 1,281 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death15%1,068
Life-threatening12.5%887
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)33.5%2,382
Disability8.5%603
Congenital anomaly7.1%502
Other serious71.4%5,078
Not serious14.3%1,019

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 22.2%157
2 to 111.8%127
12 to 171%68
18 to 4425.1%1,785
45 to 648.8%627
65 to 747.2%515
75 and over8.4%599
Age not given45.5%3,236

Patient sex

Female55.1%3,921
Male29.1%2,069
Not given15.8%1,124

Who reported

Physician25.5%1,816
Pharmacist2.1%149
Other health professional61.4%4,367
Lawyer0.1%7
Consumer or non-health professional8.8%624
Not given2.1%151

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 25.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Maternal therapy to enhance foetal lung maturity74410.5%
Psoriasis6078.5%
Foetal exposure during pregnancy4566.4%
Swelling2463.5%
Tardive dyskinesia721%
Eczema670.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 7,114 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Betamethasone reports
Prednisone1,08215.2%
Acetaminophen1,02314.4%
Ergocalciferol78911.1%
Methotrexate74910.5%
Pantoprazole73310.3%
Magnesium sulfate72510.2%
Cosentyx6409%
Azithromycin6128.6%
Metronidazole5627.9%
Candesartan5137.2%

Other products listed in reports where Betamethasone is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureBetamethasoneAll reports
Reports as suspect product7,11420,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months5121,332,454
Marked serious85.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports15091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports335213
Consumer-filed share8.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 23%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Betamethasone reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Betamethasone?

7,114 reports list Betamethasone as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 512 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 8,379 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Betamethasone reports?

drug ineffective (23%), foetal exposure during pregnancy (17.9%), maternal exposure during pregnancy (16.5%), premature baby (16.3%) and off label use (12.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Betamethasone was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

85.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 15% of reports include death and 33.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (61.4%), physician (25.5%) and consumer or non-health professional (8.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Betamethasone rising?

512 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 24% from 671 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Betamethasone was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Betamethasone?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Betamethasone as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (8,379) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.