Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Glucagon

Baqsimi: adverse event reports filed with FDA

428 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2019–2026.

428
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 63 a year
22
reports, 12 months to June 2026
25 in the 12 months before
34.8%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
6.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
26 reports · not verified by FDA

Between October 2019 and June 2026, 428 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Baqsimi (glucagon) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (222) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 22 reports listed it, down 12% from 25 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 63 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded headache (19.6%), nasal discomfort (18.9%) and hypoglycaemia (14.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 88 different terms appear across these reports. Headache is recorded in 19.6% of these reports, against 3% of all reports in the database.

34.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 6.1% record death among the outcomes and 7.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 70.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (13.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0714Jul 2021: 14Aug 2021: 6Sep 2021: 10Oct 2021: 6Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 32022Jan 2022: 7Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 5May 2022: 9Jun 2022: 10Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 7Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 42023Jan 2023: 5Feb 2023: 6Mar 2023: 5Apr 2023: 5May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 9Jul 2023: 6Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 62024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 7Apr 2024: 4May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 2Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 8Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 22026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 3Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0581152019: 1620192020: 9120202021: 11520212022: 7120222023: 6620232024: 2720242025: 3020252026: 122026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Baqsimi reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Headachehead pain19.6%84
  2. Hypoglycaemialow blood sugar14.3%61
  3. Rhinalgia12.9%55
  4. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected11%47
  5. Blood glucose decreasedlow blood sugar reading8.2%35
  6. Nauseafeeling sick6.8%29
  7. Blood glucose increasedraised blood sugar reading5.1%22
  8. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.9%21
  9. Eye paineye pain4.9%21
  10. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported4.7%20
  11. Vomitingbeing sick4.4%19
  12. Lacrimation increasedwatery eyes3.3%14
  13. Burning sensationa burning feeling3%13
  14. Hypoglycaemic unconsciousnesspassing out from low blood sugar2.8%12
  15. Painpain, site not specified2.6%11
  16. Loss of consciousnesspassing out2.3%10
  17. Swelling facea swollen face2.3%10
  18. Rhinorrhoeaa runny nose2.1%9
  19. Administration site pain1.9%8
  20. Eye irritationeye irritation1.9%8
  21. Sinus pain1.9%8
  22. Incorrect dose administeredthe wrong dose was given1.6%7
  23. Nasal congestiona blocked nose1.6%7
  24. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed1.6%7
  25. Expired product administeredthe product was used past its expiry date1.4%6
  26. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.2%5
  27. Epistaxisnosebleed1.2%5

Top 30 of 88 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death6.1%26
Life-threatening0.7%3
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)7.5%32
Disability0.2%1
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious22.9%98
Not serious65.2%279

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 111.9%8
12 to 172.1%9
18 to 4413.1%56
45 to 6412.9%55
65 to 745.6%24
75 and over6.3%27
Age not given58.2%249

Patient sex

Female51.2%219
Male28.5%122
Not given20.3%87

Who reported

Physician6.5%28
Pharmacist4.2%18
Other health professional18.2%78
Lawyer0.2%1
Consumer or non-health professional70.1%300
Not given0.7%3

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 84.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hypoglycaemia11226.2%
Blood glucose decreased10424.3%
Type 1 diabetes mellitus163.7%
Diabetes mellitus81.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 428 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Baqsimi reports
Humalog429.8%
Insulin glargine174%
Novolog153.5%
Insulin143.3%
Glucagon112.6%
Lantus92.1%
Tresiba92.1%
Trulicity92.1%
Novorapid61.4%

Other products listed in reports where Baqsimi is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureBaqsimiAll reports
Reports as suspect product42820,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months221,332,454
Marked serious34.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports6191
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports75213
Consumer-filed share70.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsHeadache 19.6%3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Baqsimi reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Baqsimi?

428 reports list Baqsimi as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 22 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 222 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Baqsimi reports?

headache (19.6%), nasal discomfort (18.9%), hypoglycaemia (14.3%), rhinalgia (12.9%) and drug ineffective (11%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Baqsimi was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

34.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 6.1% of reports include death and 7.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (70.1%), other health professional (18.2%) and physician (6.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Baqsimi rising?

22 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 12% from 25 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Baqsimi was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Baqsimi?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Baqsimi as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (222) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.