Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Axiron: adverse event reports filed with FDA

6,317 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2011–2020.

6,317
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 417 a year
0
reports, 12 months to June 2026
0 in the 12 months before
31.8%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
3.9%
record death among outcomes, as reported
249 reports · not verified by FDA

6,317 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Axiron" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from May 2011 to March 2020. A further 304 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 0 reports listed it, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 417 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded blood testosterone decreased (9.2%), drug ineffective (8.5%) and myocardial infarction (8.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 617 different terms appear across these reports. Blood testosterone decreased is recorded in 9.2% of these reports, against 0% of all reports in the database.

31.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 3.9% record death among the outcomes and 17.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 74% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (25.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

No report listing Axiron was received in the five years to June 2026; the latest was received in March 2020.

By year received

02,4104,8202011: 1420112012: 6720122013: 6020132014: 31420142015: 4,82020152016: 68220162017: 26120172018: 8120182019: 1620192020: 22020

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Axiron reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected8.5%540
  2. Myocardial infarctionheart attack8.2%518
  3. Incorrect dose administeredthe wrong dose was given6.4%407
  4. Deep vein thrombosisa blood clot in a deep vein6.4%406
  5. Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung6%381
  6. Thrombosis4.3%273
  7. Painpain, site not specified4%254
  8. Anxietyanxiety3.5%221
  9. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.5%220
  10. Rashskin rash3.3%211
  11. Cardiac failure congestivecongestive heart failure2.8%176
  12. Fatiguetiredness2.3%145
  13. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.3%144
  14. Blood testosterone increased2.2%142
  15. Application site erythemaredness where the product was applied2%129
  16. Ischaemia2%124
  17. Underdoseless than the intended dose1.8%116
  18. Quality of life decreasedreduced quality of life1.8%114
  19. Wrong technique in product usage processthe product was used in the wrong way1.7%108
  20. Drug dose omissiona dose was missed1.6%99
  21. Headachehead pain1.5%95

Top 30 of 617 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death3.9%249
Life-threatening1.6%103
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)17.2%1,086
Disability4.1%262
Congenital anomaly0%1
Other serious23%1,455
Not serious68.2%4,310

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%3
2 to 110.1%6
12 to 170.1%5
18 to 447.1%451
45 to 6425.6%1,616
65 to 746%377
75 and over1.6%98
Age not given59.5%3,761

Patient sex

Female1.5%97
Male96.5%6,096
Not given2%124

Who reported

Physician8.1%509
Pharmacist1.3%80
Other health professional1%61
Lawyer15.3%965
Consumer or non-health professional74%4,672
Not given0.5%30

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 99.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Blood testosterone decreased2,45738.9%
Androgen replacement therapy90714.4%
Hypogonadism4527.2%
Hormone replacement therapy1211.9%
Androgen deficiency751.2%
Blood testosterone360.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 6,317 reports.

In context

MeasureAxironAll reports
Reports as suspect product6,31720,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months01,332,454
Marked serious31.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports3991
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports172213
Consumer-filed share74%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsBlood testosterone decreased 9.2%0%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Axiron reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Axiron?

6,317 reports list Axiron as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 0 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 304 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Axiron reports?

blood testosterone decreased (9.2%), drug ineffective (8.5%), myocardial infarction (8.2%), cerebrovascular accident (7.5%) and incorrect dose administered (6.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Axiron was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

31.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 3.9% of reports include death and 17.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (74%), lawyer (15.3%) and physician (8.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Axiron rising?

0 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Axiron was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Axiron?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Axiron as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (304) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.