Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Avinza: adverse event reports filed with FDA

678 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

678
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 30 a year
1
reports, 12 months to June 2026
0 in the 12 months before
50.3%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
18.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
127 reports · not verified by FDA

678 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Avinza" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 470 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1 report listed it, with none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 30 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug ineffective (13.4%), nausea (6.5%) and drug withdrawal syndrome (5.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 195 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 13.4% of these reports, against 6.3% of all reports in the database.

50.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 18.7% record death among the outcomes and 17.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 48.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (19%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

011Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0761512004: 4220042005: 372006: 322007: 2520072008: 1292009: 142010: 15120102011: 432012: 532013: 2820132014: 242015: 252016: 1320162017: 72018: 102019: 320192020: 252021: 132022: 120222023: 22026: 1

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Avinza reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected13.4%91
  2. Nauseafeeling sick6.5%44
  3. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine5.9%40
  4. Vomitingbeing sick5.8%39
  5. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount5.6%38
  6. Painpain, site not specified5.6%38
  7. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.6%31
  8. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine4.6%31
  9. Cardio-respiratory arrestthe heart and breathing stopped3.7%25
  10. Somnolencedrowsiness3.5%24
  11. Constipationconstipation3.4%23
  12. Drug effect decreasedthe medicine had less effect3.1%21
  13. Insomniadifficulty sleeping2.9%20
  14. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.8%19
  15. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine2.7%18
  16. Depressionlow mood2.5%17
  17. Anxietyanxiety2.4%16
  18. Loss of consciousnesspassing out2.4%16
  19. Completed suicidedeath by suicide2.1%14
  20. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.1%14
  21. Hyperhidrosisexcessive sweating2.1%14
  22. Fatiguetiredness1.9%13
  23. Headachehead pain1.9%13
  24. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.9%13
  25. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain1.8%12
  26. Respiratory depressionslow or shallow breathing1.8%12
  27. Suicidal ideationthoughts of suicide1.8%12
  28. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort1.6%11

Top 30 of 195 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death18.7%127
Life-threatening2.1%14
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)17.3%117
Disability2.1%14
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious20.2%137
Not serious49.7%337

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 170.3%2
18 to 449.4%64
45 to 6419%129
65 to 743.7%25
75 and over2.8%19
Age not given64.7%439

Patient sex

Female42.6%289
Male30.8%209
Not given26.5%180

Who reported

Physician31%210
Pharmacist6.8%46
Other health professional7.4%50
Lawyer3.1%21
Consumer or non-health professional48.1%326
Not given3.7%25

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 88.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain14821.8%
Back pain7110.5%
Neck pain60.9%
Arthralgia40.6%
Complex regional pain syndrome40.6%
Drug abuse40.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 678 reports.

In context

MeasureAvinzaAll reports
Reports as suspect product67820,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months11,332,454
Marked serious50.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports18791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports173213
Consumer-filed share48.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 13.4%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Avinza reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Avinza?

678 reports list Avinza as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 470 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Avinza reports?

drug ineffective (13.4%), nausea (6.5%), drug withdrawal syndrome (5.9%), drug diversion (5.8%) and vomiting (5.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Avinza was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

50.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 18.7% of reports include death and 17.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (48.1%), physician (31%) and other health professional (7.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Avinza rising?

1 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, with none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Avinza was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Avinza?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Avinza as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (470) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.