Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Avandamet: adverse event reports filed with FDA

11,427 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2023.

11,427
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 508 a year
0
reports, 12 months to June 2026
0 in the 12 months before
89.4%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
9%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,029 reports · not verified by FDA

11,427 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Avandamet" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2023. A further 1,420 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 0 reports listed it, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 508 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are myocardial infarction (35.5%), cardiac failure congestive (25.9%) and cerebrovascular accident (14.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 615 different terms appear across these reports. Myocardial infarction is recorded in 35.5% of these reports, against 0.8% of all reports in the database.

89.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 9% record death among the outcomes and 67.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 37.8% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (46.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

048Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 8Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02,3154,6302004: 28620042005: 5002006: 33720062007: 3862008: 28020082009: 4792010: 1,21920102011: 1,6022012: 96420122013: 6802014: 4,63020142015: 282016: 520162017: 22018: 220182019: 22020: 1420202021: 12022: 820222023: 1

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Avandamet reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Myocardial infarctionheart attack35.5%4,051
  2. Cardiac failure congestivecongestive heart failure25.9%2,963
  3. Cerebrovascular accidentstroke14.6%1,674
  4. Chest painchest pain4.2%481
  5. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.1%355
  6. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure2.8%322
  7. Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm2.8%320
  8. Coronary arterial stent insertion2.5%280
  9. Weight increasedweight gain2.4%278
  10. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2%225
  11. Cardiac failureheart failure1.9%212
  12. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped1.8%205
  13. Fatiguetiredness1.8%205
  14. Blood glucose increasedraised blood sugar reading1.6%187
  15. Cardiomyopathydisease of the heart muscle1.6%183
  16. Oedema peripheralswelling of the legs, ankles or hands1.5%177
  17. Painpain, site not specified1.5%170
  18. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.5%169

Top 30 of 615 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death9%1,029
Life-threatening1%116
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)67.3%7,689
Disability1.4%161
Congenital anomaly0.1%8
Other serious45.5%5,203
Not serious10.6%1,213

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110%1
12 to 170%2
18 to 447.7%876
45 to 6446.2%5,274
65 to 7415%1,715
75 and over5.3%602
Age not given25.9%2,956

Patient sex

Female39.4%4,500
Male50.4%5,756
Not given10.2%1,171

Who reported

Physician37.8%4,318
Pharmacist9%1,026
Other health professional11.4%1,298
Lawyer5%569
Consumer or non-health professional36.2%4,142
Not given0.6%74

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 88.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Diabetes mellitus7,29063.8%
Type 2 diabetes mellitus7526.6%
Diabetes mellitus non-insulin-dependent920.8%
Ill-defined disorder510.4%
Blood glucose20%
Blood glucose increased20%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 11,427 reports.

In context

MeasureAvandametAll reports
Reports as suspect product11,42720,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months01,332,454
Marked serious89.4%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports9091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports673213
Consumer-filed share36.2%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsMyocardial infarction 35.5%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Avandamet reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Avandamet?

11,427 reports list Avandamet as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 0 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,420 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Avandamet reports?

myocardial infarction (35.5%), cardiac failure congestive (25.9%), cerebrovascular accident (14.6%), coronary artery disease (13.8%) and cardiac disorder (5.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Avandamet was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

89.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 9% of reports include death and 67.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (37.8%), consumer or non-health professional (36.2%) and other health professional (11.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Avandamet rising?

0 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Avandamet was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Avandamet?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Avandamet as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,420) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.