Reported Reactions

Drugs › Interleukin-1 receptor antagonist

Generic name

Anakinra: adverse event reports filed with FDA

5,639 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Interleukin-1 receptor antagonist.

5,639
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 251 a year
466
reports, 12 months to June 2026
625 in the 12 months before
96.3%
marked serious by the reporter
66.3% across the class
13.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
779 reports · not verified by FDA

5,639 adverse event reports received by FDA list anakinra, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 1,977 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 466 reports listed it, down 25% from 625 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 251 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 39.8% of the reports for the interleukin-1 receptor antagonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded drug ineffective (47.1%), off label use (36.9%) and rheumatoid arthritis (20.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,006 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 47.1% of these reports, a larger share than in the median interleukin-1 receptor antagonist drug (29.8%).

96.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (66.3% across the class); 13.8% record death among the outcomes and 40.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 57.7% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (25.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04079Jul 2021: 36Aug 2021: 43Sep 2021: 52Oct 2021: 34Nov 2021: 30Dec 2021: 602022Jan 2022: 38Feb 2022: 44Mar 2022: 37Apr 2022: 38May 2022: 45Jun 2022: 64Jul 2022: 40Aug 2022: 22Sep 2022: 48Oct 2022: 61Nov 2022: 51Dec 2022: 652023Jan 2023: 30Feb 2023: 33Mar 2023: 40Apr 2023: 22May 2023: 29Jun 2023: 52Jul 2023: 28Aug 2023: 30Sep 2023: 26Oct 2023: 35Nov 2023: 30Dec 2023: 632024Jan 2024: 30Feb 2024: 36Mar 2024: 33Apr 2024: 50May 2024: 48Jun 2024: 34Jul 2024: 61Aug 2024: 53Sep 2024: 53Oct 2024: 54Nov 2024: 36Dec 2024: 792025Jan 2025: 56Feb 2025: 44Mar 2025: 46Apr 2025: 38May 2025: 34Jun 2025: 71Jul 2025: 55Aug 2025: 34Sep 2025: 26Oct 2025: 28Nov 2025: 33Dec 2025: 612026Jan 2026: 41Feb 2026: 51Mar 2026: 45Apr 2026: 29May 2026: 26Jun 2026: 37

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

05781,1562004: 1220042005: 152009: 420092010: 132011: 2920112012: 322013: 4620132014: 232015: 5420152016: 1682017: 27220172018: 4822019: 52020192020: 1,1562021: 52020212022: 5532023: 41820232024: 5672025: 52620252026: 229

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Anakinra reports recording the termmedian drug in interleukin-1 receptor antagonist

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected47.1%2,656
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label36.9%2,078
  3. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease20.2%1,140
  4. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse17.2%970
  5. Painpain, site not specified16%905
  6. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated15.9%897
  7. Joint swellinga swollen joint14.6%822
  8. Arthropathy10.9%613
  9. Mobility decreasedreduced ability to move about10.1%572
  10. Treatment failurethe treatment did not work9.9%559
  11. Arthralgiajoint pain9.6%544
  12. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine9.5%537
  13. Nauseafeeling sick9.2%521
  14. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools8.7%490
  15. Loss of consciousnesspassing out8.5%477
  16. Septic shockshock arising from infection8.3%470
  17. Adrenal insufficiencythe adrenal glands produce too little hormone8.1%458
  18. Psoriasispsoriasis, a skin condition7.9%446
  19. Vomitingbeing sick7.5%422
  20. Obesity7.2%408
  21. Intentional product use issuedeliberate use not as intended7.1%401
  22. Infectionan infection, type not specified7.1%398
  23. Renal failurekidney failure6.8%386

Top 30 of 1,006 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 2 drugs in the interleukin-1 receptor antagonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death13.8%779
Life-threatening13.7%770
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)40.8%2,302
Disability6.1%342
Congenital anomaly0.7%38
Other serious75.9%4,278
Not serious3.7%211

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 14,178 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 22.6%144
2 to 119.8%550
12 to 175.2%295
18 to 4413.2%745
45 to 6425.7%1,451
65 to 748%449
75 and over2.3%132
Age not given33.2%1,873

Patient sex

Female53.5%3,018
Male31.8%1,793
Not given14.7%828

Who reported

Physician26.9%1,519
Pharmacist1%57
Other health professional57.7%3,251
Lawyer0%1
Consumer or non-health professional12.3%692
Not given2.1%119

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 21.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis1,26622.5%
Still's disease5439.6%
Haemophagocytic lymphohistiocytosis3906.9%
Juvenile idiopathic arthritis3886.9%
Systemic lupus erythematosus1632.9%
Covid-191622.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 5,639 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Anakinra reports
Methotrexate2,68647.6%
Enbrel2,22939.5%
Humira1,94134.4%
Orencia1,92234.1%
Actemra1,87533.3%
Remicade1,67929.8%
Hydroxychloroquine1,56427.7%
Prednisone1,54627.4%
Rituximab1,44225.6%
Sulfasalazine1,42025.2%

Other products listed in reports where Anakinra is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureAnakinraInterleukin-1 receptor antagonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product5,63914,17820,646,523
Share of that pool—39.8%0%
Reports, latest 12 months466—1,332,454
Marked serious96.3%66.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports1388691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports408300213
Consumer-filed share12.3%45.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 47.1%median 29.8%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the interleukin-1 receptor antagonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Kineretbrand8,53940546.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Anakinra reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Anakinra?

5,639 reports list Anakinra as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 466 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,977 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Anakinra reports?

drug ineffective (47.1%), off label use (36.9%), rheumatoid arthritis (20.2%), condition aggravated (17.2%) and pain (16%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Anakinra was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

96.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 13.8% of reports include death and 40.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (57.7%), physician (26.9%) and consumer or non-health professional (12.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Anakinra rising?

466 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 25% from 625 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Anakinra was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Anakinra?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Anakinra as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,977) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.