Reported Reactions

Devices › Filter, intravascular, cardiovascular

Device brand name · Filter intravascular cardiovascular

Unknown Vena Cava Filter: medical device reports filed with FDA

153 reports name it, 2017–2022. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Cordis. Product code DTK.

153
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 17 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
5.2%
classified as malfunction
29.9% across the product code
3.3%
classified as death, as reported
5 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 153 reports that name the brand "Unknown Vena Cava Filter" (filter intravascular cardiovascular), received between June 2017 and November 2022; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Cordis. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (91.5%), malfunction (5.2%) and death (3.3%); across all filter, intravascular, cardiovascular reports (product code DTK) death is recorded in 2.4% and malfunction in 29.9%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are unintended movement (31.4%), failure to align (22.9%) and fracture (20.9%). The patient problems coded most often are perforation of vessels, perforation and internal organ perforation. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

024Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

025492017: 520172018: 2220182019: 3020192020: 4920202021: 3420212022: 132022

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.3%5
Injury91.5%140
Malfunction5.2%8
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%153
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 38,361 reports carrying product code DTK. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Unintended movement4831.4%10.2%
Failure to align3522.9%4.2%
Fracturea broken bone3220.9%7.3%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed138.5%3.1%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove74.6%19.8%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off63.9%7.8%
Therapeutic or diagnostic output failure53.3%0.3%
Material perforation42.6%1%
Patient device interaction problem32%6.4%
Malposition of device21.3%10.9%
Breakthe device broke10.7%1%
Defective component10.7%0.1%
Defective devicethe device was defective10.7%0.2%
Extrusion10.7%1.8%
Inflation problem10.7%0%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient10.7%4.3%
Unexpected therapeutic results10.7%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Perforation of vessels8555.6%
Perforation3019.6%
Internal organ perforation2214.4%
Stenosis1711.1%
Coagulation disorder159.8%
Thrombosis138.5%
Occlusion127.8%
Vessel or plaque, device embedded in127.8%
Embolus117.2%
Painpain, site not specified106.5%
Obstruction/occlusion95.9%
Thrombosis/thrombus95.9%
Injurya physical injury53.3%
Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung53.3%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term32%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureUnknown Vena Cava FilterProduct code DTKAll MAUDE reports
Reports15338,36126,136,888
Share of that pool—0.4%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports33249
Classified as injury91.5%67%36.2%
Classified as malfunction5.2%29.9%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%93%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DTK

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Gunther Tulip Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set1,92600.6%
Gunther Tulip Jugular Vena Cava Filter Set1,23500.7%
G2 Filter System - Femoral1,12203.7%
Denali Femoral System928784.6%
466fxxxx93601.9%
Cook Celect Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set89801.3%
Unknown Optease Vena Cava Filter83501.7%
Greenfield73550.5%
Unknown Trapease72001.7%
Denali Jugular System704456.3%
Option Ivc Filter70202.1%
Trapease Pvcf Fem/Jug 55cm Csi98303.7%
Optease Retrieval Filter68503.4%
Cook Celect Navalign Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set67301.5%
Eclipse Filter System - Femoral64906%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Unknown Vena Cava Filter reports

How many FDA reports name Unknown Vena Cava Filter?

153 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (91.5%), malfunction (5.2%) and death (3.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

unintended movement (31.4%), failure to align (22.9%), fracture (20.9%), migration (8.5%) and difficult to remove (4.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Unknown Vena Cava Filter was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.