Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, cemented

Device brand name · Prosthesis hip

Unknown Stem: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,857 reports name it, 2012–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Zimmer Biomet. Product code JDI.

1,857
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 128 a year
84
reports, 12 months to August 2026
113 in the 12 months before
1.6%
classified as malfunction
7.8% across the product code
0.5%
classified as death, as reported
10 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 1,857 reports that name the brand "Unknown Stem" (prosthesis hip), received between January 2012 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Zimmer Biomet. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

84 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 26% from 113 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (97.9%), malfunction (1.6%) and death (0.5%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, cemented reports (product code JDI) death is recorded in 0.4% and malfunction in 7.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (44.3%), corroded (6.5%) and material erosion (6.1%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, bone fracture(s) and injury. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01326Sep 2021: 11Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 172022Jan 2022: 4Feb 2022: 10Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 10Jun 2022: 13Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 4Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 6Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 32023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 4Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 10Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 11Aug 2023: 8Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 17Dec 2023: 82024Jan 2024: 5Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 10Jun 2024: 9Jul 2024: 9Aug 2024: 19Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 14Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 72025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 4Mar 2025: 14Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 9Jun 2025: 10Jul 2025: 26Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 12Oct 2025: 21Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 82026Jan 2026: 10Feb 2026: 6Mar 2026: 4Apr 2026: 2May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 5Jul 2026: 3Aug 2026: 9

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

02484962012: 2020122013: 172014: 1120142015: 152016: 3220162017: 4962018: 29620182019: 2552020: 18720202021: 1112022: 7520222023: 792024: 9820242025: 1252026: 402026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.5%10
Injury97.9%1,818
Malfunction1.6%29
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%1,857
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 70,618 reports carrying product code JDI. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information82244.3%30.7%
Corrodedthe device corroded1216.5%2.9%
Material erosion1136.1%1.1%
Fracturea broken bone542.9%3.7%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth512.7%1%
Migration or expulsion of device432.3%0.9%
Metal shedding debris311.7%3.5%
Device dislodged or dislocated231.2%14.7%
Unstable231.2%1.1%
Naturally worn221.2%11.7%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off191%0.8%
Degraded181%1.4%
Loss of osseointegration170.9%2.1%
Malposition of device170.9%1%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed130.7%0.7%
Material deformation90.5%0.3%
Loss of or failure to bond70.4%1.2%
Breakthe device broke60.3%2.7%
Noise, audible60.3%2.4%
Patient device interaction problem60.3%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified29415.8%
Bone fracture(s)20511%
Injurya physical injury1256.7%
Osteolysis1126%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified1055.7%
Metal related pathology824.4%
Failure of implant553%
Ambulation or postural difficulties422.3%
Inflammationinflammation392.1%
Joint dislocationa dislocated joint382%
Falla fall331.8%
Osteopenia/ osteoporosis331.8%
Extraskeletal ossification291.6%
Hip fracturea broken hip281.5%
Foreign body reaction231.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureUnknown StemProduct code JDIAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,85770,61826,136,888
Share of that pool—2.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports549
Classified as injury97.9%91.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction1.6%7.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JDI

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Articuleze M Head 36mm +1 53,431240.1%
Articuleze M Head 36mm +53,111240.1%
Unknown Hip Femoral Head5,0801760.7%
Articuleze M Head 36mm -21,661100.2%
Articuleze M Head 36mm +8 51,674110.1%
Unknown Hip Femoral Stem4,140790.8%
Unknown Hip2,30651.9%
Unknown Head2,2501030.7%
Unknown liner2,255750.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
Articul/Eze Ball 32 +1 Gr69550.1%
UNK Hip Femoral Head Metal728670.1%
Articul/Eze Ball 28 +1 5 Gr641200.3%
S-Rom M Head 36mm +082700%
Unknown Cup1,461660.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Unknown Stem reports

How many FDA reports name Unknown Stem?

1,857 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 84 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (97.9%), malfunction (1.6%) and death (0.5%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (44.3%), corroded (6.5%), material erosion (6.1%), fracture (2.9%) and loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth (2.7%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Unknown Stem was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.