Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, cemented

Device brand name · Prosthesis hip

Unknown Head: medical device reports filed with FDA

2,250 reports name it, 2013–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Zimmer Biomet. Product code JDI.

2,250
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 170 a year
103
reports, 12 months to August 2026
176 in the 12 months before
0.5%
classified as malfunction
7.8% across the product code
0.7%
classified as death, as reported
15 reports · not verified by FDA

2,250 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Unknown Head" (prosthesis hip); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Zimmer Biomet; received from April 2013 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

103 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 41% from 176 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (98.8%), death (0.7%) and malfunction (0.5%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, cemented reports (product code JDI) death is recorded in 0.4% and malfunction in 7.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (39%), device dislodged or dislocated (27.9%) and material erosion (5.9%). The patient problems coded most often are joint dislocation, pain and reaction. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01632Sep 2021: 16Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 142022Jan 2022: 4Feb 2022: 6Mar 2022: 14Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 5Jun 2022: 9Jul 2022: 8Aug 2022: 10Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 62023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 14Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 7Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 8Aug 2023: 8Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 7Nov 2023: 9Dec 2023: 112024Jan 2024: 8Feb 2024: 5Mar 2024: 11Apr 2024: 12May 2024: 14Jun 2024: 17Jul 2024: 19Aug 2024: 11Sep 2024: 9Oct 2024: 13Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 112025Jan 2025: 11Feb 2025: 8Mar 2025: 23Apr 2025: 20May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 28Jul 2025: 32Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 11Oct 2025: 16Nov 2025: 9Dec 2025: 122026Jan 2026: 7Feb 2026: 14Mar 2026: 9Apr 2026: 6May 2026: 2Jun 2026: 9Jul 2026: 3Aug 2026: 5

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

03006002013: 520132014: 142015: 1120152016: 172017: 60020172018: 3842019: 31020192020: 2372021: 12620212022: 802023: 9020232024: 1392025: 18220252026: 55

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.7%15
Injury98.8%2,224
Malfunction0.5%11
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%2,250
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 70,618 reports carrying product code JDI. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information87839%30.7%
Device dislodged or dislocated62827.9%14.7%
Material erosion1335.9%1.1%
Corrodedthe device corroded1094.8%2.9%
Unstable703.1%1.1%
Naturally worn361.6%11.7%
Metal shedding debris291.3%3.5%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off190.8%0.8%
Noise, audible140.6%2.4%
Fracturea broken bone110.5%3.7%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size80.4%0.3%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth80.4%1%
Migration or expulsion of device80.4%0.9%
Patient device interaction problem70.3%0.1%
Degraded60.3%1.4%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed50.2%0.7%
Biocompatibility40.2%0.4%
Malposition of device40.2%1%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem40.2%0.4%
Loose or intermittent connection30.1%1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Joint dislocationa dislocated joint61727.4%
Painpain, site not specified29213%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified1235.5%
Metal related pathology602.7%
Osteolysis592.6%
Injurya physical injury502.2%
Failure of implant492.2%
Ambulation or postural difficulties452%
Tissue damage281.2%
Local reaction271.2%
Host-tissue reaction241.1%
Falla fall210.9%
Medical device site infectioninfection at the device site200.9%
Osteopenia/ osteoporosis200.9%
Foreign body reaction190.8%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureUnknown HeadProduct code JDIAll MAUDE reports
Reports2,25070,61826,136,888
Share of that pool—3.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports749
Classified as injury98.8%91.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.5%7.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JDI

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Articuleze M Head 36mm +1 53,431240.1%
Articuleze M Head 36mm +53,111240.1%
Unknown Hip Femoral Head5,0801760.7%
Articuleze M Head 36mm -21,661100.2%
Articuleze M Head 36mm +8 51,674110.1%
Unknown Hip Femoral Stem4,140790.8%
Unknown Hip2,30651.9%
Unknown Stem1,857840.5%
Unknown liner2,255750.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
Articul/Eze Ball 32 +1 Gr69550.1%
UNK Hip Femoral Head Metal728670.1%
Articul/Eze Ball 28 +1 5 Gr641200.3%
S-Rom M Head 36mm +082700%
Unknown Cup1,461660.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Unknown Head reports

How many FDA reports name Unknown Head?

2,250 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 103 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (98.8%), death (0.7%) and malfunction (0.5%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (39%), device dislodged or dislocated (27.9%), material erosion (5.9%), corroded (4.8%) and unstable (3.1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Unknown Head was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.