Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, cemented
Device brand name · Prosthesis hip
Unknown Femoral Stem: medical device reports filed with FDA
237 reports name it, 2005–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Zimmer Biomet. Product code JDI.
- 237
- device reports naming the brand
- 0% of all MAUDE reports · about 11 a year
- 10
- reports, 12 months to August 2026
- 20 in the 12 months before
- 0.4%
- classified as malfunction
- 7.8% across the product code
- 1.3%
- classified as death, as reported
- 3 reports · not verified by FDA
237 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Unknown Femoral Stem" (prosthesis hip); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Zimmer Biomet; received from August 2005 to March 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.
10 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 50% from 20 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (98.3%), death (1.3%) and malfunction (0.4%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, cemented reports (product code JDI) death is recorded in 0.4% and malfunction in 7.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.
The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (49.4%), fracture (7.6%) and migration or expulsion of device (3.8%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, bone fracture(s) and reaction. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.
By year received
Event type and report source
Event type, as classified on the report
Who filed the report
Grey bar: all 70,618 reports carrying product code JDI. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.
Device problems coded
| Device problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share | Share across product code |
|---|---|---|---|
| Insufficient device problem information | 117 | 49.4% | 30.7% |
| Fracturea broken bone | 18 | 7.6% | 3.7% |
| Migration or expulsion of device | 9 | 3.8% | 0.9% |
| Corrodedthe device corroded | 7 | 3% | 2.9% |
| Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off | 6 | 2.5% | 0.8% |
| Failure to adhere or bond | 4 | 1.7% | 0.1% |
| Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth | 4 | 1.7% | 1% |
| Material erosion | 4 | 1.7% | 1.1% |
| Naturally worn | 4 | 1.7% | 11.7% |
| Degraded | 3 | 1.3% | 1.4% |
| Device dislodged or dislocated | 3 | 1.3% | 14.7% |
| Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove | 3 | 1.3% | 0.2% |
| Loss of osseointegration | 3 | 1.3% | 2.1% |
| Metal shedding debris | 3 | 1.3% | 3.5% |
| Unstable | 2 | 0.8% | 1.1% |
| Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert | 1 | 0.4% | 0.6% |
| Loss of or failure to bond | 1 | 0.4% | 1.2% |
| Mechanical problema mechanical problem | 1 | 0.4% | 0.4% |
| Osseointegration problem | 1 | 0.4% | 0.8% |
| Patient device interaction problem | 1 | 0.4% | 0.1% |
FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.
Patient problems coded
| Patient problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Painpain, site not specified | 39 | 16.5% |
| Bone fracture(s) | 15 | 6.3% |
| Reactiona reaction, type not specified | 13 | 5.5% |
| Injurya physical injury | 11 | 4.6% |
| Osteolysis | 9 | 3.8% |
| Foreign body reaction | 8 | 3.4% |
| Ambulation or postural difficulties | 6 | 2.5% |
| Inflammationinflammation | 6 | 2.5% |
| Extraskeletal ossification | 4 | 1.7% |
| Host-tissue reaction | 4 | 1.7% |
| Joint dislocationa dislocated joint | 4 | 1.7% |
| Aseptic loosening | 3 | 1.3% |
| Discomfortdiscomfort | 3 | 1.3% |
| Hip fracturea broken hip | 3 | 1.3% |
| Inadequate osseointegration | 3 | 1.3% |
Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.
In context
| Measure | Unknown Femoral Stem | Product code JDI | All MAUDE reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports | 237 | 70,618 | 26,136,888 |
| Share of that pool | — | 0.3% | 0% |
| Classified as death, per 1,000 reports | 13 | 4 | 9 |
| Classified as injury | 98.3% | 91.3% | 36.2% |
| Classified as malfunction | 0.4% | 7.8% | 62.3% |
| Filed by the manufacturer | 100% | 98.4% | 94.9% |
Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Other brands with product code JDI
| Brand | Reports | Latest 12 months | Classified as death |
|---|---|---|---|
| Articuleze M Head 36mm +1 5 | 3,431 | 24 | 0.1% |
| Articuleze M Head 36mm +5 | 3,111 | 24 | 0.1% |
| Unknown Hip Femoral Head | 5,080 | 176 | 0.7% |
| Articuleze M Head 36mm -2 | 1,661 | 10 | 0.2% |
| Articuleze M Head 36mm +8 5 | 1,674 | 11 | 0.1% |
| Unknown Hip Femoral Stem | 4,140 | 79 | 0.8% |
| Unknown Hip | 2,306 | 5 | 1.9% |
| Unknown Head | 2,250 | 103 | 0.7% |
| Unknown Stem | 1,857 | 84 | 0.5% |
| Unknown liner | 2,255 | 75 | 0.4% |
| Unknown Reconstructive Product | 2,579 | 0 | 0.4% |
| Articul/Eze Ball 32 +1 Gr | 695 | 5 | 0.1% |
| UNK Hip Femoral Head Metal | 728 | 67 | 0.1% |
| Articul/Eze Ball 28 +1 5 Gr | 641 | 20 | 0.3% |
| S-Rom M Head 36mm +0 | 827 | 0 | 0% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."
Questions about Unknown Femoral Stem reports
How many FDA reports name Unknown Femoral Stem?
237 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 10 in the latest 12 months.
What kinds of events are reported?
injury (98.3%), death (1.3%) and malfunction (0.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.
What device problems are coded?
insufficient device problem information (49.4%), fracture (7.6%), migration or expulsion of device (3.8%), corroded (3%) and detachment of device or device component (2.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.
Who files these reports?
manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.
Do these reports show that Unknown Femoral Stem was at fault?
No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."
How do I report a problem with a medical device?
Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.