Reported Reactions

Devices › Joint, temporomandibular, implant

Device brand name · Tmj left fossa

Total Temporomandibular Joint Replacement System: medical device reports filed with FDA

212 reports name it, 2014–2017. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Biomet Microfixation. Product code LZD.

212
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 17 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
0%
classified as malfunction
6.3% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 212 reports that name the brand "Total Temporomandibular Joint Replacement System" (tmj left fossa), received between April 2014 and April 2017; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Biomet Microfixation. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (100%); across all joint, temporomandibular, implant reports (product code LZD) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 6.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (35.8%), malposition of device (6.1%) and device operates differently than expected (5.2%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, swelling and headache. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Total Temporomandibular Joint Replacement System was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in April 2017.

By year received

0591182014: 2820142015: 11820152016: 5920162017: 72017

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury100%212
Malfunction0%0
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%212
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 3,116 reports carrying product code LZD. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information7635.8%13.9%
Malposition of device136.1%4.5%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly115.2%1.4%
Migration or expulsion of device94.2%2.4%
Device dislodged or dislocated73.3%5.7%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size52.4%3.3%
Biological environmental factor41.9%0.1%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient41.9%3.1%
Loose or intermittent connection31.4%0.5%
Unintended collision31.4%0.1%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method20.9%0.4%
Breakthe device broke10.5%1.5%
Defective devicethe device was defective10.5%0%
Device slipped10.5%0.4%
Fracturea broken bone10.5%3.2%
Noise, audible10.5%1.6%
Positioning problem10.5%0.4%
Therapeutic or diagnostic output failure10.5%0.1%
Unstable10.5%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified11252.8%
Swellingswelling3114.6%
Headachehead pain2712.7%
Nerve damage219.9%
Muscle spasm(s)167.5%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint115.2%
Hearing loss104.7%
Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction94.2%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified94.2%
Discomfortdiscomfort83.8%
Facial nerve paralysis73.3%
Extraskeletal ossification62.8%
Paralysis62.8%
Complaint, ill-defined52.4%
Fistula52.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureTotal Temporomandibular Joint Replacement SystemProduct code LZDAll MAUDE reports
Reports2123,11626,136,888
Share of that pool—6.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury100%89.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0%6.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%87.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LZD

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
TMJ Bilateral Implants261670%
Unknown Screw1,2221560%
Unknown_Fro_Product19270%
Ni32,9391,5871.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Total Temporomandibular Joint Replacement System reports

How many FDA reports name Total Temporomandibular Joint Replacement System?

212 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (100%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (35.8%), malposition of device (6.1%), device operates differently than expected (5.2%), migration or expulsion of device (4.2%) and device dislodged or dislocated (3.3%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Total Temporomandibular Joint Replacement System was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.