Reported Reactions

Devices › Staple, implantable

Device brand name · Staple implantable

SorbaFix Enhanced: medical device reports filed with FDA

278 reports name it, 2013–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Davol Sub C R Bard -1213643. Product code GDW.

278
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 21 a year
49
reports, 12 months to August 2026
44 in the 12 months before
91.7%
classified as malfunction
80.3% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

278 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "SorbaFix Enhanced" (staple implantable); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Davol Sub C R Bard -1213643; received from February 2013 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

49 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 11% from 44 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (91.7%) and injury (8.3%); across all staple, implantable reports (product code GDW) death is recorded in 0.6% and malfunction in 80.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are failure to form staple (63.7%), break (16.2%) and unintended ejection (4.3%). The patient problems coded most often are foreign body in patient, hernia and pain. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0611Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 72023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 5Mar 2023: 7Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 8Jun 2023: 11Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 72024Jan 2024: 8Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 8Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 4Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 5Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 2Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 7May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 5Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 9Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 112026Jan 2026: 3Feb 2026: 7Mar 2026: 6Apr 2026: 6May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 4Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 4

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

031612013: 720132014: 32018: 520182019: 52020: 1920202021: 252022: 2920222023: 612024: 4220242025: 482026: 342026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury8.3%23
Malfunction91.7%255
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%278
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 170,752 reports carrying product code GDW. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Failure to form staple17763.7%20.5%
Breakthe device broke4516.2%4.9%
Unintended ejection124.3%0.3%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off103.6%2.4%
Incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings62.2%0%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient51.8%0.1%
Expiration date error41.4%0%
Ambient temperature problem31.1%0%
Failure to fire31.1%30%
Material deformation31.1%0.2%
Mechanical jam31.1%2.3%
Patient device interaction problem31.1%0.7%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging31.1%0.2%
Defective devicethe device was defective20.7%0.2%
Device contamination with chemical or other material20.7%0.1%
Material twisted/bent20.7%0.3%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem20.7%1.1%
Crackthe device cracked10.4%0.1%
Deformation due to compressive stress10.4%0%
Difficult or delayed activation10.4%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient134.7%
Hernia31.1%
Painpain, site not specified31.1%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue20.7%
Seromaa collection of fluid under the skin20.7%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain10.4%
Abnormal vaginal discharge10.4%
Erosion10.4%
Failure of implant10.4%
Inflammationinflammation10.4%
Neuralgia10.4%
Post operative wound infection10.4%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified10.4%
Urinary retentionbeing unable to empty the bladder10.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureSorbaFix EnhancedProduct code GDWAll MAUDE reports
Reports278170,75226,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports069
Classified as injury8.3%18.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction91.7%80.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code GDW

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Endo GIA30,6192,0860.3%
Endo GIA Ultra17,2811,1160.1%
Signia9,4341,1300.1%
Tri-Staple 2.05,2676610.3%
Gia4,8994040.9%
Eea4,9225420.8%
Powered 60 Echelon + 340mm Shaft3,2372240.4%
Ets Flex Articng Lnr Cutr 45mm2,512790.3%
Unknown Endo GIA SULU2,4082051.9%
SureForm2,9276541.2%
Contour Curved Cutter Stapler1,961110.3%
Ils 29mm Curved1,945480.9%
Powered 60 Echelon + 440mm Shaft1,775490.4%
Echelon Flex Powered Vascular Stapler With Advanced Placement Tip1,7701801.6%
75mm Selectable New Tlc1,603571.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about SorbaFix Enhanced reports

How many FDA reports name SorbaFix Enhanced?

278 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 49 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (91.7%) and injury (8.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

failure to form staple (63.7%), break (16.2%), unintended ejection (4.3%), detachment of device or device component (3.6%) and incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings (2.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that SorbaFix Enhanced was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.