Reported Reactions

Devices › Staple, implantable

Device brand name · Staple implantable

Endo GIA Ultra: medical device reports filed with FDA

17,281 reports name it, 2012–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: US Surgical Puerto Rico. Product code GDW.

17,281
device reports naming the brand
0.1% of all MAUDE reports · about 1,213 a year
1,116
reports, 12 months to August 2026
1,186 in the 12 months before
94.2%
classified as malfunction
80.3% across the product code
0.1%
classified as death, as reported
15 reports · not verified by FDA

17,281 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Endo GIA Ultra" (staple implantable); the manufacturer given most often on reports is US Surgical Puerto Rico; received from April 2012 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

1,116 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, close to the 1,186 of the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (94.2%), injury (5.7%) and death (0.1%); across all staple, implantable reports (product code GDW) death is recorded in 0.6% and malfunction in 80.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are failure to fire (60.6%), break (11.6%) and noise, audible (11.5%). The patient problems coded most often are tissue damage, tissue breakdown and no patient involvement. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0111222Sep 2021: 115Oct 2021: 116Nov 2021: 135Dec 2021: 1312022Jan 2022: 120Feb 2022: 100Mar 2022: 173Apr 2022: 137May 2022: 153Jun 2022: 159Jul 2022: 131Aug 2022: 175Sep 2022: 178Oct 2022: 184Nov 2022: 186Dec 2022: 2222023Jan 2023: 161Feb 2023: 158Mar 2023: 214Apr 2023: 182May 2023: 192Jun 2023: 207Jul 2023: 181Aug 2023: 149Sep 2023: 148Oct 2023: 164Nov 2023: 117Dec 2023: 1572024Jan 2024: 218Feb 2024: 148Mar 2024: 111Apr 2024: 151May 2024: 163Jun 2024: 130Jul 2024: 151Aug 2024: 111Sep 2024: 123Oct 2024: 109Nov 2024: 102Dec 2024: 1002025Jan 2025: 128Feb 2025: 73Mar 2025: 83Apr 2025: 92May 2025: 82Jun 2025: 99Jul 2025: 127Aug 2025: 68Sep 2025: 106Oct 2025: 103Nov 2025: 89Dec 2025: 1232026Jan 2026: 65Feb 2026: 91Mar 2026: 89Apr 2026: 71May 2026: 73Jun 2026: 121Jul 2026: 68Aug 2026: 117

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

01,3132,6252012: 1020122013: 42014: 820142015: 72016: 620162017: 1,8782018: 2,62520182019: 2,4572020: 1,41620202021: 1,4372022: 1,91820222023: 2,0302024: 1,61720242025: 1,1732026: 6952026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.1%15
Injury5.7%981
Malfunction94.2%16,281
Other0%0
Not given0%4

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report98.8%17,073
Voluntary report0%8
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given1.2%200

Grey bar: all 170,752 reports carrying product code GDW. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Failure to fire10,47560.6%30%
Breakthe device broke2,01111.6%4.9%
Noise, audible1,98911.5%2.3%
Misfire1,97911.5%9.1%
Difficult to open or close1,3207.6%9.7%
Human-device interface problem1,2227.1%2.4%
Entrapment of device9905.7%3.2%
Failure to form staple6243.6%20.5%
Insufficient device problem information5963.4%2.9%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off4332.5%2.4%
Mechanics altered3331.9%1.4%
Firing problem3121.8%1.6%
Component or accessory incompatibility2891.7%0.7%
Device slipped2351.4%0.4%
Retraction problem2171.3%1.2%
Difficult or delayed positioning1691%0.3%
Detachment of device component1170.7%1.2%
Mechanical jam1020.6%2.3%
Physical resistance/sticking1010.6%0.3%
Failure to cut570.3%2.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Tissue damage3121.8%
Tissue breakdown2131.2%
No patient involvement1030.6%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding970.6%
Blood loss810.5%
Injurya physical injury570.3%
Laceration(s)560.3%
Failure to anastomose480.3%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available440.3%
Painpain, site not specified130.1%
Fistula120.1%
Radiation exposure, unintended100.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term70%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient70%
Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection70%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureEndo GIA UltraProduct code GDWAll MAUDE reports
Reports17,281170,75226,136,888
Share of that pool—10.1%0.1%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports169
Classified as injury5.7%18.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction94.2%80.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer98.8%97%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code GDW

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Endo GIA30,6192,0860.3%
Signia9,4341,1300.1%
Tri-Staple 2.05,2676610.3%
Gia4,8994040.9%
Eea4,9225420.8%
Powered 60 Echelon + 340mm Shaft3,2372240.4%
Ets Flex Articng Lnr Cutr 45mm2,512790.3%
Unknown Endo GIA SULU2,4082051.9%
SureForm2,9276541.2%
Contour Curved Cutter Stapler1,961110.3%
Ils 29mm Curved1,945480.9%
Powered 60 Echelon + 440mm Shaft1,775490.4%
Echelon Flex Powered Vascular Stapler With Advanced Placement Tip1,7701801.6%
75mm Selectable New Tlc1,603571.1%
Unknown Endo GIA Instrument1,512330.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Endo GIA Ultra reports

How many FDA reports name Endo GIA Ultra?

17,281 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 1,116 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (94.2%), injury (5.7%) and death (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

failure to fire (60.6%), break (11.6%), noise, audible (11.5%), misfire (11.5%) and difficult to open or close (7.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (98.8%) and voluntary reports (0%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Endo GIA Ultra was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.