Reported Reactions

Devices › Drug eluting permanent right ventricular (rv) or right atrial (ra) pacemaker electrodes

Device brand name · Pacer lead

Setrox S 53: medical device reports filed with FDA

3,552 reports name it, 2006–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Biotronik Se & Kg. Product code NVN.

3,552
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 176 a year
128
reports, 12 months to August 2026
143 in the 12 months before
47.5%
classified as malfunction
41.6% across the product code
1.2%
classified as death, as reported
42 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 3,552 reports that name the brand "Setrox S 53" (pacer lead), received between May 2006 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Biotronik Se & Kg. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

128 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 10% from 143 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (50.6%), malfunction (47.5%) and death (1.2%); across all drug eluting permanent right ventricular (rv) or right atrial (ra) pacemaker electrodes reports (product code NVN) death is recorded in 2.2% and malfunction in 41.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device dislodged or dislocated (20.1%), ambient noise problem (12.5%) and failure to capture (11.1%). The patient problems coded most often are surgical procedure, twiddlers syndrome and death. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01121Sep 2021: 10Oct 2021: 17Nov 2021: 16Dec 2021: 102022Jan 2022: 11Feb 2022: 7Mar 2022: 19Apr 2022: 16May 2022: 14Jun 2022: 20Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 16Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 14Nov 2022: 15Dec 2022: 72023Jan 2023: 10Feb 2023: 16Mar 2023: 7Apr 2023: 7May 2023: 16Jun 2023: 10Jul 2023: 8Aug 2023: 17Sep 2023: 10Oct 2023: 13Nov 2023: 10Dec 2023: 92024Jan 2024: 19Feb 2024: 13Mar 2024: 10Apr 2024: 15May 2024: 10Jun 2024: 13Jul 2024: 10Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 7Oct 2024: 9Nov 2024: 21Dec 2024: 92025Jan 2025: 13Feb 2025: 13Mar 2025: 14Apr 2025: 8May 2025: 12Jun 2025: 11Jul 2025: 11Aug 2025: 15Sep 2025: 7Oct 2025: 13Nov 2025: 12Dec 2025: 182026Jan 2026: 9Feb 2026: 15Mar 2026: 14Apr 2026: 5May 2026: 9Jun 2026: 14Jul 2026: 6Aug 2026: 6

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

02084162006: 1120062007: 512008: 1002009: 8920092010: 1002011: 1052012: 16620122013: 1892014: 2542015: 29420152016: 4162017: 2852018: 23620182019: 2262020: 1692021: 20420212022: 1542023: 1332024: 14520242025: 1472026: 78

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.2%42
Injury50.6%1,797
Malfunction47.5%1,687
Other0.5%18
Not given0.2%8

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.7%3,542
Voluntary report0.3%10
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 229,796 reports carrying product code NVN. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device dislodged or dislocated71420.1%15.8%
Ambient noise problem44512.5%1.4%
Failure to capture39611.1%12.6%
High capture threshold3249.1%10.7%
High impedance1895.3%9.1%
Fracturea broken bone1785%4.7%
Insufficient device problem information1504.2%2.6%
Normal1424%0%
Over-sensing1203.4%17.9%
Under-sensing1022.9%4.5%
Dislodged892.5%0%
Breakthe device broke882.5%5.2%
Impedance problem862.4%2.2%
Low impedance681.9%5.1%
Explanted641.8%0%
Device sensing problem601.7%3.7%
Intermittent capture581.6%1.1%
Failure to sense531.5%2%
High sensing threshold351%0.5%
Pacing problem280.8%4.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Surgical procedure1845.2%
Twiddlers syndrome451.3%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term411.2%
Pocket erosion381.1%
Cardiac perforation330.9%
Painpain, site not specified330.9%
Endocarditis300.8%
Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection290.8%
Shock from patient lead(s)280.8%
Staphylococcus aureus170.5%
Discomfortdiscomfort120.3%
Muscle stimulation120.3%
Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection110.3%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped110.3%
Falla fall110.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureSetrox S 53Product code NVNAll MAUDE reports
Reports3,552229,79626,136,888
Share of that pool—1.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports12229
Classified as injury50.6%56.2%36.2%
Classified as malfunction47.5%41.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.7%96.9%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NVN

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Tendril Sts54,0364,3203.1%
SelectSecure MRI SureScan20,9614,9941.3%
Tendril St20,1565475.2%
Ingevity Mri17,1011,7490.3%
Ingevity+15,3402,1500.3%
Tendril Sdx Lead9,3804314.5%
CapSure Fix MRI5,7556000.6%
Solia S 534,9976470.5%
Tendril Mri7,0764224.1%
Drug Eluting Permanent Right Ventricular Rv Or Right Atrial Ra Pacemaker Ele4,4624050.3%
Capsurefix Mri Surescan4,24702.8%
Tendril Sdx8,31632.3%
Ingevity9,0392990.9%
Ingevity +3,0532,2810.6%
Dextrus 41365,69800.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Setrox S 53 reports

How many FDA reports name Setrox S 53?

3,552 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 128 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (50.6%), malfunction (47.5%) and death (1.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device dislodged or dislocated (20.1%), ambient noise problem (12.5%), failure to capture (11.1%), high capture threshold (9.1%) and high impedance (5.3%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.7%) and voluntary reports (0.3%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Setrox S 53 was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.