Reported Reactions

Devices › Detector and alarm, arrhythmia

Device brand name · Implantable loop recorder

Reveal Dx: medical device reports filed with FDA

730 reports name it, 2010–2021. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Med Rel. Product code DSI.

730
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 44 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
62.3%
classified as malfunction
90.5% across the product code
0.4%
classified as death, as reported
3 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 730 reports that name the brand "Reveal Dx" (implantable loop recorder), received between February 2010 and June 2021; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Med Rel. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (62.3%), injury (37.3%) and death (0.4%); across all detector and alarm, arrhythmia reports (product code DSI) death is recorded in 1.5% and malfunction in 90.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are under-sensing (26%), over-sensing (18.2%) and device remains activated (12.5%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, failure of implant and cardiac arrest. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Reveal Dx was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in June 2021.

By year received

0961912010: 19120102011: 17820112012: 11220122013: 8520132014: 6620142015: 5920152016: 2420162017: 920172018: 320182021: 32021

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.4%3
Injury37.3%272
Malfunction62.3%455
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%730
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 33,398 reports carrying product code DSI. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Under-sensing19026%23.7%
Over-sensing13318.2%15.6%
Device remains activated9112.5%0.5%
Signal artifact/noise9112.5%5.6%
Failure to interrogate679.2%2.1%
Invalid sensing517%2%
Device sensing problem405.5%4.8%
Data problem344.7%0.5%
Insufficient device problem information304.1%0.5%
Communication or transmission problemthe device could not communicate or transmit253.4%3.3%
Failure to sense212.9%0.2%
Premature discharge of battery141.9%10.2%
Battery problema problem with the battery131.8%1.2%
Unable to obtain readings121.6%2.2%
Defective devicethe device was defective60.8%0.4%
Device expiration issue60.8%0.1%
Electromagnetic interference60.8%1.3%
Failure to power up60.8%0.3%
Migration or expulsion of device60.8%3.9%
Incorrect measurementthe device measured wrongly50.7%0.6%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified212.9%
Failure of implant202.7%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped121.6%
Discomfortdiscomfort81.1%
Erosion71%
Syncopefainting71%
Ventricular tachycardiaa fast rhythm from the lower heart chambers71%
Burning sensationa burning feeling60.8%
Pocket erosion60.8%
Bradycardiaslow heart rate50.7%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness50.7%
Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction50.7%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term40.5%
Fainting20.3%
Palpitationsawareness of the heartbeat20.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureReveal DxProduct code DSIAll MAUDE reports
Reports73033,39826,136,888
Share of that pool—2.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports4159
Classified as injury37.3%7.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction62.3%90.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.3%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DSI

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Reveal LINQ19,1842640%
MX40 1.4 GHz Smart Hopping5,13561.3%
Reveal Xt2,03700.1%
Mx40 2 4 Ghz Smart Hopping78501.5%
Acuity Central Monitoring71000%
Mp70 Intellivue Patient Monitor682015.4%
IntelliVue Multi Measurement Server X21,9241351.7%
Intellivue Mx40 802 11a/B/G32903%
Spacelabs Ultraview Sl Command Module20048.5%
IntelliVue MX800 patient monitor5025410.6%
Patient Connector207830%
IntelliVue MX40 2.4GHz192566.8%
Passport 2 Monitor46900.2%
IntelliVue MP52617310.7%
Zio AT711903.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Reveal Dx reports

How many FDA reports name Reveal Dx?

730 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (62.3%), injury (37.3%) and death (0.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

under-sensing (26%), over-sensing (18.2%), device remains activated (12.5%), signal artifact/noise (12.5%) and failure to interrogate (9.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Reveal Dx was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.