Reported Reactions

Devices › Filter, intravascular, cardiovascular

Device brand name · Vena cava filter

Recovery Filter System: medical device reports filed with FDA

613 reports name it, 2007–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Bard Peripheral Vascular. Product code DTK.

613
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 32 a year
4
reports, 12 months to August 2026
9 in the 12 months before
29.5%
classified as malfunction
29.9% across the product code
3.6%
classified as death, as reported
22 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 613 reports that name the brand "Recovery Filter System" (vena cava filter), received between February 2007 and July 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Bard Peripheral Vascular. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

4 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 56% from 9 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (66.9%), malfunction (29.5%) and death (3.6%); across all filter, intravascular, cardiovascular reports (product code DTK) death is recorded in 2.4% and malfunction in 29.9%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are detachment of device or device component (45.5%), malposition of device (32%) and patient device interaction problem (30.7%). The patient problems coded most often are abdominal pain, device embedded in tissue or plaque and pain. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

048Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 8Nov 2021: 8Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 4Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 1Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0511012007: 1620072008: 152009: 2520092010: 92011: 1120112012: 122013: 1020132014: 72015: 2420152016: 562017: 5320172018: 562019: 10120192020: 832021: 9820212022: 152023: 720232024: 62025: 520252026: 4

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.6%22
Injury66.9%410
Malfunction29.5%181
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.5%610
Voluntary report0.2%1
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.3%2

Grey bar: all 38,361 reports carrying product code DTK. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off27945.5%7.8%
Malposition of device19632%10.9%
Patient device interaction problem18830.7%6.4%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient14223.2%4.3%
Migration or expulsion of device13021.2%9.6%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove12921%19.8%
Extrusion8413.7%1.8%
Detachment of device component589.5%1.9%
Material deformation284.6%1.2%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed264.2%3.1%
Obstruction of flow162.6%4.1%
Fracturea broken bone142.3%7.3%
Explanted50.8%0.8%
Device dislodged or dislocated40.7%0.4%
Unintended movement40.7%10.2%
Device or device fragments location unknown30.5%0.1%
Device, or device fragments remain in patient30.5%0.5%
Positioning problem30.5%2%
Breakthe device broke20.3%1%
Component missing20.3%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain12320.1%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque8413.7%
Painpain, site not specified7412.1%
Chest painchest pain6610.8%
Great vessel perforation6210.1%
Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung589.5%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient315.1%
Cardiac perforation284.6%
Injurya physical injury223.6%
Thrombus203.3%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term172.8%
Perforation172.8%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional172.8%
Vessel or plaque, device embedded in122%
Embolism111.8%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureRecovery Filter SystemProduct code DTKAll MAUDE reports
Reports61338,36126,136,888
Share of that pool—1.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports36249
Classified as injury66.9%67%36.2%
Classified as malfunction29.5%29.9%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.5%93%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DTK

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Gunther Tulip Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set1,92600.6%
Gunther Tulip Jugular Vena Cava Filter Set1,23500.7%
G2 Filter System - Femoral1,12203.7%
Denali Femoral System928784.6%
466fxxxx93601.9%
Cook Celect Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set89801.3%
Unknown Optease Vena Cava Filter83501.7%
Greenfield73550.5%
Unknown Trapease72001.7%
Denali Jugular System704456.3%
Option Ivc Filter70202.1%
Trapease Pvcf Fem/Jug 55cm Csi98303.7%
Optease Retrieval Filter68503.4%
Cook Celect Navalign Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set67301.5%
Eclipse Filter System - Femoral64906%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Recovery Filter System reports

How many FDA reports name Recovery Filter System?

613 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 4 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (66.9%), malfunction (29.5%) and death (3.6%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

detachment of device or device component (45.5%), malposition of device (32%), patient device interaction problem (30.7%), patient-device incompatibility (23.2%) and migration or expulsion of device (21.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.5%) and voluntary reports (0.2%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Recovery Filter System was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.