Reported Reactions

Devices › Staple, implantable

Device brand name · Staple implantable

Pwrd 25mm Curved Circular 18cm Shaft: medical device reports filed with FDA

622 reports name it, 2019–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ethicon Endo-Surgery. Product code GDW.

622
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 89 a year
51
reports, 12 months to August 2026
88 in the 12 months before
79.1%
classified as malfunction
80.3% across the product code
0.3%
classified as death, as reported
2 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 622 reports that name the brand "Pwrd 25mm Curved Circular 18cm Shaft" (staple implantable), received between July 2019 and March 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ethicon Endo-Surgery. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

51 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 42% from 88 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (79.1%), injury (20.6%) and death (0.3%); across all staple, implantable reports (product code GDW) death is recorded in 0.6% and malfunction in 80.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are failure to fire (54%), ejection problem (14.1%) and failure to form staple (13.3%). The patient problems coded most often are failure to anastomose, hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding and appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01325Sep 2021: 11Oct 2021: 8Nov 2021: 12Dec 2021: 212022Jan 2022: 14Feb 2022: 17Mar 2022: 25Apr 2022: 8May 2022: 14Jun 2022: 16Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 12Nov 2022: 7Dec 2022: 72023Jan 2023: 5Feb 2023: 6Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 8May 2023: 6Jun 2023: 9Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 10Oct 2023: 8Nov 2023: 9Dec 2023: 112024Jan 2024: 9Feb 2024: 6Mar 2024: 13Apr 2024: 15May 2024: 8Jun 2024: 11Jul 2024: 13Aug 2024: 10Sep 2024: 7Oct 2024: 17Nov 2024: 11Dec 2024: 112025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 10Apr 2025: 8May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 5Aug 2025: 8Sep 2025: 12Oct 2025: 13Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 42026Jan 2026: 14Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 3Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0721442019: 1220192020: 3720202021: 11720212022: 14420222023: 8820232024: 13120242025: 7120252026: 222026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.3%2
Injury20.6%128
Malfunction79.1%492
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%622
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 170,752 reports carrying product code GDW. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Failure to fire33654%30%
Ejection problem8814.1%0.8%
Failure to form staple8313.3%20.5%
Failure to cut345.5%2.4%
Failure to eject193.1%0.1%
Patient device interaction problem152.4%0.7%
Mechanical jam111.8%2.3%
Self-activation or keying91.4%0.2%
Breakthe device broke81.3%4.9%
Delivered as unsterile product81.3%0.3%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off71.1%2.4%
Firing problem71.1%1.6%
Failure to read input signal61%0.2%
Device remains activated50.8%0%
Noise, audible50.8%2.3%
Difficult to open or close40.6%9.7%
Structural problem30.5%0.1%
Difficult or delayed activation20.3%0.2%
Fail-safe did not operate20.3%0%
Insufficient device problem information20.3%2.9%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Failure to anastomose8413.5%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding213.4%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available111.8%
Fever81.3%
Obstruction/occlusion61%
Swelling/ edema30.5%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain20.3%
Abscessa collection of pus20.3%
Cancer20.3%
Painpain, site not specified20.3%
Stenosis20.3%
Tissue damage20.3%
Blood loss10.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.2%
Fistula10.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasurePwrd 25mm Curved Circular 18cm ShaftProduct code GDWAll MAUDE reports
Reports622170,75226,136,888
Share of that pool—0.4%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports369
Classified as injury20.6%18.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction79.1%80.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code GDW

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Endo GIA30,6192,0860.3%
Endo GIA Ultra17,2811,1160.1%
Signia9,4341,1300.1%
Tri-Staple 2.05,2676610.3%
Gia4,8994040.9%
Eea4,9225420.8%
Powered 60 Echelon + 340mm Shaft3,2372240.4%
Ets Flex Articng Lnr Cutr 45mm2,512790.3%
Unknown Endo GIA SULU2,4082051.9%
SureForm2,9276541.2%
Contour Curved Cutter Stapler1,961110.3%
Ils 29mm Curved1,945480.9%
Powered 60 Echelon + 440mm Shaft1,775490.4%
Echelon Flex Powered Vascular Stapler With Advanced Placement Tip1,7701801.6%
75mm Selectable New Tlc1,603571.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Pwrd 25mm Curved Circular 18cm Shaft reports

How many FDA reports name Pwrd 25mm Curved Circular 18cm Shaft?

622 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 51 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (79.1%), injury (20.6%) and death (0.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

failure to fire (54%), ejection problem (14.1%), failure to form staple (13.3%), failure to cut (5.5%) and failure to eject (3.1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Pwrd 25mm Curved Circular 18cm Shaft was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.