Reported Reactions

Devices › Wheelchair, powered

Device brand name · Scooter

Pride: medical device reports filed with FDA

464 reports name it, 1998–2011. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Pride Mobility Products. Product code ITI.

464
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 17 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
2.6%
classified as malfunction
87.6% across the product code
10.1%
classified as death, as reported
47 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 464 reports that name the brand "Pride" (scooter), received between August 1998 and July 2011; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Pride Mobility Products. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are other (71.6%), injury (13.1%) and death (10.1%); across all wheelchair, powered reports (product code ITI) death is recorded in 0.6% and malfunction in 87.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are fire (13.6%), device tipped over (9.5%) and unintended system motion (8.6%). The patient problems coded most often are fall, bone fracture(s) and injury. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Pride was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in July 2011.

By year received

032641998: 3319981999: 102000: 1820002001: 472002: 2920022003: 242004: 3520042005: 312006: 3120062007: 262008: 4220082009: 642010: 5920102011: 15

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death10.1%47
Injury13.1%61
Malfunction2.6%12
Other71.6%332
Not given2.6%12

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report97.6%453
Voluntary report2.4%11
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 30,586 reports carrying product code ITI. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Fire6313.6%1%
Device tipped over449.5%1.2%
Unintended system motionthe device moved when it should not have408.6%3%
Component(s), broken245.2%0.9%
Insufficient device problem information224.7%0.8%
Breakthe device broke204.3%12.5%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)204.3%0.4%
Detachment of device component194.1%3.1%
Smoking163.4%1.2%
Self-activation or keying153.2%2.2%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly132.8%17.6%
Sticking112.4%3.4%
Device issuea problem with the device102.2%0.1%
Loss of powerthe device lost power81.7%3%
Device remains activated71.5%3.3%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method71.5%1%
Material separation71.5%0.3%
Collapse61.3%0.1%
Device emits odor40.9%0.7%
Explode40.9%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Falla fall18139%
Bone fracture(s)14831.9%
Injurya physical injury9119.6%
Hospitalization required8017.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4710.1%
Bruise/contusion275.8%
Hip fracturea broken hip183.9%
Laceration(s)173.7%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)163.4%
Cut(s)143%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional143%
Surgical procedure132.8%
Painpain, site not specified112.4%
Burn(s)a burn102.2%
Fracture, arm102.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasurePrideProduct code ITIAll MAUDE reports
Reports46430,58626,136,888
Share of that pool—1.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports10169
Classified as injury13.1%9.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction2.6%87.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer97.6%98.7%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code ITI

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Powered Wheelchair18,46400.1%
Power Chair 20 Wide By 18 Deep For Pmi3,20200%
Tdxsp Electric Red Euro Wide Base W/ 23-1 Ssd Gear Box1,30900.2%
Pride Mobility Products1,9391453.6%
SmartDrive9326620%
M51p Blue Base W/Mk5 Nx Spj+ 915364208739500%
Quickie1,61910.2%
Tdxsp Wet Black Euro Narrow Base W/ 23-1 Ssd Gear Box27000%
Invacare Power Wheelchair24805.2%
Hoveround Corporation29608.1%
Pronto M41 Blue Base 915364576218500%
M51p Red Base W/Mk5 Nx Spj+ 915364208818100%
Tdxsp Wet Black Euro Narrow Base W/ 18-1 Ssd Gear Box17600%
Hoveround15415.8%
Pronto M6115200%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Pride reports

How many FDA reports name Pride?

464 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

other (71.6%), injury (13.1%) and death (10.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

fire (13.6%), device tipped over (9.5%), unintended system motion (8.6%), component(s), broken (5.2%) and insufficient device problem information (4.7%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (97.6%) and voluntary reports (2.4%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Pride was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.