Reported Reactions

Devices › Wheelchair, powered

Device brand name

Invacare Power Wheelchair: medical device reports filed with FDA

248 reports name it, 2001–2008. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Invacare - Manufacturing Facility. Product code ITI.

248
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 10 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
16.1%
classified as malfunction
87.6% across the product code
5.2%
classified as death, as reported
13 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 248 reports that name the brand "Invacare Power Wheelchair", received between July 2001 and October 2008; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Invacare - Manufacturing Facility. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (69%), malfunction (16.1%) and other (8.1%); across all wheelchair, powered reports (product code ITI) death is recorded in 0.6% and malfunction in 87.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (13.3%), device tipped over (12.5%) and unintended system motion (9.7%). The patient problems coded most often are bone fracture(s), fall and injury. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Invacare Power Wheelchair was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in October 2008.

By year received

021412001: 2320012002: 4120022003: 3020032004: 3820042005: 2520052006: 3420062007: 3120072008: 262008

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death5.2%13
Injury69%171
Malfunction16.1%40
Other8.1%20
Not given1.6%4

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%248
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 30,586 reports carrying product code ITI. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)3313.3%0.4%
Device tipped over3112.5%1.2%
Unintended system motionthe device moved when it should not have249.7%3%
Fire228.9%1%
Smoking228.9%1.2%
Self-activation or keying176.9%2.2%
Breakthe device broke145.6%12.5%
Sticking114.4%3.4%
Component(s), broken83.2%0.9%
Malfunction72.8%0.1%
Collapse62.4%0.1%
Device issuea problem with the device62.4%0.1%
Device remains activated62.4%3.3%
Melted62.4%0.5%
Entrapment of device52%0.1%
Component falling41.6%0.9%
Detachment of device component41.6%3.1%
Loss of powerthe device lost power41.6%3%
Device emits odor31.2%0.7%
Sparking31.2%0.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Bone fracture(s)9638.7%
Falla fall8132.7%
Injurya physical injury4016.1%
Hospitalization required145.6%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term135.2%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)135.2%
Cut(s)124.8%
Physical entrapment124.8%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional104%
Bruise/contusion93.6%
Surgical procedure83.2%
Dural tear72.8%
Abrasion62.4%
Painpain, site not specified52%
Concussionconcussion41.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureInvacare Power WheelchairProduct code ITIAll MAUDE reports
Reports24830,58626,136,888
Share of that pool—0.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports5269
Classified as injury69%9.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction16.1%87.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.7%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code ITI

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Powered Wheelchair18,46400.1%
Power Chair 20 Wide By 18 Deep For Pmi3,20200%
Tdxsp Electric Red Euro Wide Base W/ 23-1 Ssd Gear Box1,30900.2%
Pride Mobility Products1,9391453.6%
SmartDrive9326620%
M51p Blue Base W/Mk5 Nx Spj+ 915364208739500%
Quickie1,61910.2%
Tdxsp Wet Black Euro Narrow Base W/ 23-1 Ssd Gear Box27000%
Pride464010.1%
Hoveround Corporation29608.1%
Pronto M41 Blue Base 915364576218500%
M51p Red Base W/Mk5 Nx Spj+ 915364208818100%
Tdxsp Wet Black Euro Narrow Base W/ 18-1 Ssd Gear Box17600%
Hoveround15415.8%
Pronto M6115200%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Invacare Power Wheelchair reports

How many FDA reports name Invacare Power Wheelchair?

248 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (69%), malfunction (16.1%) and other (8.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (13.3%), device tipped over (12.5%), unintended system motion (9.7%), fire (8.9%) and smoking (8.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Invacare Power Wheelchair was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.