Reported Reactions

Devices › Catheter, intravascular, therapeutic, long-term greater than 30 days

Device brand name · Intravascular catheter

Premicath: medical device reports filed with FDA

338 reports name it, 1998–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Vygon USA. Product code LJS.

338
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 12 a year
54
reports, 12 months to August 2026
64 in the 12 months before
69.8%
classified as malfunction
81.1% across the product code
3.6%
classified as death, as reported
12 reports · not verified by FDA

338 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Premicath" (intravascular catheter); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Vygon USA; received from June 1998 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

54 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 16% from 64 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (69.8%), injury (25.7%) and death (3.6%); across all catheter, intravascular, therapeutic, long-term greater than 30 days reports (product code LJS) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 81.1%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are fluid/blood leak (40.2%), break (29.9%) and material fragmentation (24.9%). The patient problems coded most often are device embedded in tissue or plaque, foreign body in patient and discomfort. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0714Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 4Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 8Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 14Nov 2024: 10Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 4Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 8Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 8Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 7Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 7Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 4Apr 2026: 2May 2026: 8Jun 2026: 7Jul 2026: 6Aug 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

028551998: 319982001: 72011: 420112014: 52015: 3020152016: 392017: 1620172018: 142019: 520192020: 222021: 1820212022: 202023: 2320232024: 412025: 5520252026: 36

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.6%12
Injury25.7%87
Malfunction69.8%236
Other0%0
Not given0.9%3

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report93.8%317
Voluntary report0.9%3
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given5.3%18

Grey bar: all 37,016 reports carrying product code LJS. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Fluid/blood leak13640.2%30.1%
Breakthe device broke10129.9%11.5%
Material fragmentation8424.9%0.8%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed216.2%0.3%
Material separation154.4%2.3%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove144.1%1.8%
Malposition of device144.1%0.5%
Positioning problem144.1%0.3%
Fracturea broken bone113.3%4.7%
Crackthe device cracked103%3.4%
Material rupture103%1.1%
Obstruction of flow103%1%
Material split, cut or torn82.4%0.7%
Leak/splashthe device leaked51.5%6.2%
Migration or expulsion of device41.2%1.3%
Unintended movement41.2%0.1%
Difficult to flush30.9%0.5%
Activation, positioning or separation problem20.6%0.1%
Complete blockage20.6%0.2%
Device dislodged or dislocated20.6%1.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Device embedded in tissue or plaque5315.7%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient4413%
Discomfortdiscomfort154.4%
Pleural effusionfluid around the lung133.8%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding92.7%
Cardiac tamponade72.1%
Painpain, site not specified61.8%
Premature labor61.8%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term41.2%
Pericardial effusionfluid around the heart41.2%
Failure of implant30.9%
Extravasation20.6%
Inflammationinflammation20.6%
Respiratory distress syndrome of newborns20.6%
Swellingswelling20.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasurePremicathProduct code LJSAll MAUDE reports
Reports33837,01626,136,888
Share of that pool—0.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports3639
Classified as injury25.7%16.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction69.8%81.1%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer93.8%92.9%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LJS

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
PowerPICC8565770.1%
Groshong Nxt Clearvue 4f Single-Lumen Basic Tray With Safety Introducer77400.1%
Bard PICC733840%
PowerPICC SOLO2, 3CG6921370%
PowerPICC SOLO26804880%
Groshong Nxt Clearvue 4f Single-Lumen Picc Basic Tray With Microintroducer43900.5%
Groshong CLEARVUE4194150%
Groshong NXT ClearVue3961500%
Groshong Nxt Clearvue 4f Single-Lumen Picc Basic Tray37700.3%
Powerpicc 3cg341180%
Nutriline328600.6%
Powerpicc Solo Catheter With Sherlock 3cg Tps Stylet 4f Full Tray30900%
Powerpicc Solo Catheter With Sherlock 3cg Tip Positioning System Tps Stylet 4f26400%
Vaxcel Pasv Picc28600.7%
Morpheus Picc28100%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Premicath reports

How many FDA reports name Premicath?

338 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 54 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (69.8%), injury (25.7%) and death (3.6%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

fluid/blood leak (40.2%), break (29.9%), material fragmentation (24.9%), migration (6.2%) and material separation (4.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (93.8%) and voluntary reports (0.9%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Premicath was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.