Reported Reactions

Devices › Catheter, intravascular, therapeutic, long-term greater than 30 days

Device brand name · Catheter intravascular therapeutic long-term greater than 30 days

Bard PICC: medical device reports filed with FDA

733 reports name it, 2005–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: C R Bard Basd -3006260740. Product code LJS.

733
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 35 a year
84
reports, 12 months to August 2026
199 in the 12 months before
82.1%
classified as malfunction
81.1% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

733 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Bard PICC" (catheter intravascular therapeutic long-term greater than 30 days); the manufacturer given most often on reports is C R Bard Basd -3006260740; received from May 2005 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

84 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 58% from 199 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (82.1%), injury (17.6%) and other (0.1%); across all catheter, intravascular, therapeutic, long-term greater than 30 days reports (product code LJS) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 81.1%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are fluid/blood leak (35.3%), material deformation (13.5%) and failure to infuse (5.6%). The patient problems coded most often are swelling/ edema, foreign body in patient and erythema. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

02549Sep 2021: 7Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 42022Jan 2022: 3Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 9Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 8Jun 2022: 22Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 12Sep 2022: 12Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 18Dec 2022: 92023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 7May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 6Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 5Dec 2023: 72024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 12Mar 2024: 6Apr 2024: 16May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 12Jul 2024: 14Aug 2024: 18Sep 2024: 8Oct 2024: 8Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 122025Jan 2025: 10Feb 2025: 49Mar 2025: 19Apr 2025: 17May 2025: 16Jun 2025: 12Jul 2025: 24Aug 2025: 15Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 82026Jan 2026: 3Feb 2026: 9Mar 2026: 10Apr 2026: 6May 2026: 3Jun 2026: 8Jul 2026: 8Aug 2026: 9

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0951902005: 320052017: 82018: 1120182019: 382020: 6220202021: 762022: 11420222023: 482024: 12720242025: 1902026: 562026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury17.6%129
Malfunction82.1%602
Other0.1%1
Not given0.1%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.3%728
Voluntary report0.4%3
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.3%2

Grey bar: all 37,016 reports carrying product code LJS. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Fluid/blood leak25935.3%30.1%
Material deformation9913.5%6.9%
Failure to infuse415.6%1.5%
Device dislodged or dislocated375%1.2%
Breakthe device broke334.5%11.5%
Material frayed324.4%2.5%
Defective component294%3%
Contamination /decontamination problem212.9%1.4%
Material twisted/bent121.6%1.1%
Activation problem71%0.4%
Crackthe device cracked71%3.4%
Difficult or delayed separation60.8%0.6%
Fracturea broken bone40.5%4.7%
Backflow30.4%0.6%
Component incompatible30.4%1.8%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off30.4%1.7%
Device markings/labelling problema problem with the device markings or label30.4%0.4%
Flushing problem30.4%0.3%
Leak/splashthe device leaked30.4%6.2%
Material split, cut or torn30.4%0.7%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Swelling/ edema344.6%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient314.2%
Erythemaskin redness253.4%
Thrombosis/thrombus172.3%
Painpain, site not specified141.9%
Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction91.2%
Extravasation81.1%
Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection60.8%
Itching sensation40.5%
Local reaction40.5%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified40.5%
Skin inflammation/ irritation40.5%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque30.4%
Thrombus30.4%
Anaphylactoid / anaphylaxis20.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureBard PICCProduct code LJSAll MAUDE reports
Reports73337,01626,136,888
Share of that pool—2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports039
Classified as injury17.6%16.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction82.1%81.1%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.3%92.9%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LJS

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
PowerPICC8565770.1%
Groshong Nxt Clearvue 4f Single-Lumen Basic Tray With Safety Introducer77400.1%
PowerPICC SOLO2, 3CG6921370%
PowerPICC SOLO26804880%
Groshong Nxt Clearvue 4f Single-Lumen Picc Basic Tray With Microintroducer43900.5%
Groshong CLEARVUE4194150%
Groshong NXT ClearVue3961500%
Groshong Nxt Clearvue 4f Single-Lumen Picc Basic Tray37700.3%
Powerpicc 3cg341180%
Nutriline328600.6%
Premicath338543.6%
Powerpicc Solo Catheter With Sherlock 3cg Tps Stylet 4f Full Tray30900%
Powerpicc Solo Catheter With Sherlock 3cg Tip Positioning System Tps Stylet 4f26400%
Vaxcel Pasv Picc28600.7%
Morpheus Picc28100%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Bard PICC reports

How many FDA reports name Bard PICC?

733 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 84 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (82.1%), injury (17.6%) and other (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

fluid/blood leak (35.3%), material deformation (13.5%), failure to infuse (5.6%), device dislodged or dislocated (5%) and break (4.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.3%) and voluntary reports (0.4%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Bard PICC was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.