Reported Reactions

Devices › System, test, blood glucose, over the counter

Device brand name · Blood glucose monitoring system

Precision Xceed Pro: medical device reports filed with FDA

187 reports name it, 2009–2022. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Abbott Diabetes Care. Product code NBW.

187
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 11 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
89.3%
classified as malfunction
90.4% across the product code
1.6%
classified as death, as reported
3 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 187 reports that name the brand "Precision Xceed Pro" (blood glucose monitoring system), received between February 2009 and February 2022; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Abbott Diabetes Care. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (89.3%), injury (9.1%) and death (1.6%); across all system, test, blood glucose, over the counter reports (product code NBW) death is recorded in 0% and malfunction in 90.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are incorrect or inadequate test results (24.6%), incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings (20.3%) and high test results (12.8%). The patient problems coded most often are hyperglycemia, hypoglycemia and loss of consciousness. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

012Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

015292009: 1220092010: 122011: 2920112012: 152013: 2420132014: 182015: 1620152016: 192017: 2420172018: 122020: 320202022: 3

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.6%3
Injury9.1%17
Malfunction89.3%167
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report97.3%182
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given2.7%5

Grey bar: all 431,760 reports carrying product code NBW. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Incorrect or inadequate test results4624.6%9.2%
Incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings3820.3%5.6%
High test results2412.8%6.2%
Low test results2312.3%2.5%
Nonstandard device147.5%1.2%
High readingsreadings were too high137%1.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly105.3%4.4%
False reading from device non-compliance84.3%1.1%
Device displays incorrect message63.2%24%
Low readingsreadings were too low42.1%0.3%
Human-device interface problem31.6%0%
Breakthe device broke10.5%0.4%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used10.5%0.5%
Display difficult to read10.5%0.5%
Failure to advance10.5%0%
Failure to power up10.5%19.5%
Filling problem10.5%0.9%
Imprecision10.5%0%
Inappropriate or unexpected reset10.5%0.3%
Insufficient device problem information10.5%0.8%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hyperglycemiahigh blood sugar2211.8%
Hypoglycemialow blood sugar2111.2%
Loss of consciousnesspassing out52.7%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term31.6%
Elevated ketones/ diabetic ketoacidosis31.6%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped10.5%
Confusion/ disorientation10.5%
Electric shockan electric shock10.5%
Exposure to body fluids10.5%
Laceration(s)10.5%
Misdiagnosis10.5%
Painpain, site not specified10.5%
Pneumonialung infection10.5%
Polydipsia10.5%
Seizures10.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasurePrecision Xceed ProProduct code NBWAll MAUDE reports
Reports187431,76026,136,888
Share of that pool—0%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports1609
Classified as injury9.1%8.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction89.3%90.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer97.3%99.3%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NBW

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Ot Verio Iq Meter93,04100%
Ot Verio2 Meter45,29400%
Ot Ping Meter38,81700%
Ot Ultralink Meter26,21700%
Ot Verio Flex Meter13,50300%
Precision Xtra11,69660.1%
FreeStyle Lite12,2444300%
FreeStyle Freedom Lite11,0286940%
Neo Meter Optium FreeStyle10,6911320%
FreeStyle Precision Neo10,407350%
Ot Verio Pro Meter6,71600%
Ot Verio Test Strips6,35100%
One Touch Ultralink Meter5,99400%
Ot Ultra2 Meter5,14200%
Ot Ping Enhanced Meter5,08000%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Precision Xceed Pro reports

How many FDA reports name Precision Xceed Pro?

187 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (89.3%), injury (9.1%) and death (1.6%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

incorrect or inadequate test results (24.6%), incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings (20.3%), high test results (12.8%), low test results (12.3%) and nonstandard device (7.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (97.3%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Precision Xceed Pro was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.