Reported Reactions

Devices › Drug eluting permanent right ventricular (rv) or right atrial (ra) pacemaker electrodes

Device brand name · Permanent pacemaker electrode

Optisense: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,790 reports name it, 2008–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: St Jude Medical Crmd. Product code NVN.

1,790
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 97 a year
22
reports, 12 months to August 2026
31 in the 12 months before
39.3%
classified as malfunction
41.6% across the product code
7.7%
classified as death, as reported
138 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 1,790 reports that name the brand "Optisense" (permanent pacemaker electrode), received between January 2008 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is St Jude Medical Crmd. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

22 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 29% from 31 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (53%), malfunction (39.3%) and death (7.7%); across all drug eluting permanent right ventricular (rv) or right atrial (ra) pacemaker electrodes reports (product code NVN) death is recorded in 2.2% and malfunction in 41.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device dislodged or dislocated (24.9%), over-sensing (22.8%) and failure to capture (8.2%). The patient problems coded most often are death, twiddlers syndrome and surgical procedure. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

047Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 52022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 7Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 32024Jan 2024: 5Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 4Feb 2025: 3Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 6May 2025: 7Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 4Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 2Apr 2026: 2May 2026: 3Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 1Aug 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

02555102008: 2220082009: 442010: 7120102011: 1592012: 13220122013: 1922014: 51020142015: 2172016: 5920162017: 622018: 6220182019: 462020: 3920202021: 462022: 2720222023: 342024: 1820242025: 352026: 152026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death7.7%138
Injury53%949
Malfunction39.3%703
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.4%1,779
Voluntary report0.5%9
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.1%2

Grey bar: all 229,796 reports carrying product code NVN. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device dislodged or dislocated44524.9%15.8%
Over-sensing40822.8%17.9%
Failure to capture1468.2%12.6%
Failure to sense1307.3%2%
Low impedance1196.6%5.1%
Breakthe device broke1015.6%5.2%
High capture threshold905%10.7%
Device sensing problem834.6%3.7%
Signal artifact/noise804.5%9%
High impedance724%9.1%
Under-sensing693.9%4.5%
High sensing threshold553.1%0.5%
Capturing problem432.4%4.7%
Fracturea broken bone321.8%4.7%
Pacing problem301.7%4.4%
Insufficient device problem information251.4%2.6%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert231.3%0.5%
Dislodged231.3%0%
Impedance problem221.2%2.2%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly191.1%0.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1307.3%
Twiddlers syndrome341.9%
Surgical procedure321.8%
Muscle stimulation160.9%
Exit block120.7%
Perforation100.6%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped90.5%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness90.5%
Dyspneashortness of breath90.5%
Discomfortdiscomfort80.4%
Chest painchest pain70.4%
Failure of implant70.4%
Fatiguetiredness70.4%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue60.3%
Painpain, site not specified50.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureOptisenseProduct code NVNAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,790229,79626,136,888
Share of that pool—0.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports77229
Classified as injury53%56.2%36.2%
Classified as malfunction39.3%41.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.4%96.9%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NVN

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Tendril Sts54,0364,3203.1%
SelectSecure MRI SureScan20,9614,9941.3%
Tendril St20,1565475.2%
Ingevity Mri17,1011,7490.3%
Ingevity+15,3402,1500.3%
Tendril Sdx Lead9,3804314.5%
CapSure Fix MRI5,7556000.6%
Solia S 534,9976470.5%
Tendril Mri7,0764224.1%
Drug Eluting Permanent Right Ventricular Rv Or Right Atrial Ra Pacemaker Ele4,4624050.3%
Capsurefix Mri Surescan4,24702.8%
Tendril Sdx8,31632.3%
Ingevity9,0392990.9%
Ingevity +3,0532,2810.6%
Dextrus 41365,69800.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Optisense reports

How many FDA reports name Optisense?

1,790 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 22 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (53%), malfunction (39.3%) and death (7.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device dislodged or dislocated (24.9%), over-sensing (22.8%), failure to capture (8.2%), failure to sense (7.3%) and low impedance (6.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.4%) and voluntary reports (0.5%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Optisense was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.