Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer

Device brand name · Jwh

Nexgen Cr-Flex Gsf Femoral Component: medical device reports filed with FDA

165 reports name it, 2011–2016. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Zimmer. Product code JWH.

165
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 11 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
4.2%
classified as malfunction
14.7% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

165 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Nexgen Cr-Flex Gsf Femoral Component" (jwh); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Zimmer; received from March 2011 to December 2016. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (95.8%) and malfunction (4.2%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, cemented, polymer/metal/polymer reports (product code JWH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 14.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (70.3%), failure to adhere or bond (3.6%) and component incompatible (1.2%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, fall and muscle weakness/atrophy. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Nexgen Cr-Flex Gsf Femoral Component was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in December 2016.

By year received

030592011: 1020112012: 5920122013: 3220132014: 4320142015: 1220152016: 92016

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury95.8%158
Malfunction4.2%7
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%165
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,133 reports carrying product code JWH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information11670.3%18.1%
Failure to adhere or bond63.6%0.7%
Component incompatible21.2%0.1%
Loose or intermittent connection21.2%2.1%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging21.2%0.3%
Detachment of device component10.6%0.3%
Fitting problem10.6%0.4%
Malposition of device10.6%0.9%
Off-label use10.6%0.1%
Unstable10.6%4.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified13179.4%
Falla fall10.6%
Muscle weakness/atrophy10.6%
Swellingswelling10.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureNexgen Cr-Flex Gsf Femoral ComponentProduct code JWHAll MAUDE reports
Reports165158,13326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.1%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury95.8%84.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction4.2%14.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code JWH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Unknown Knee Femoral1,897650.2%
Unknown Knee Tibial Tray1,958570.2%
Persona Tibial Articular Surface Provisional1,58400%
Itotal G21,25000%
Specific Device Not Reported1,462200.2%
Apex Knee System1,001490%
Djo Surgical4,7132,4480%
Unknown Knee1,847181.5%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 5 Cem863180%
Attune Fb Tib Base Sz 4 Cem797140%
Pfc Sigma/Ov/Dome Pat 3peg 3880630.4%
Unknown Knee Patella791260.4%
Unknown Reconstructive Product2,57900.4%
UNK Attune Knee Tibial Insert8951020.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Nexgen Cr-Flex Gsf Femoral Component reports

How many FDA reports name Nexgen Cr-Flex Gsf Femoral Component?

165 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (95.8%) and malfunction (4.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (70.3%), failure to adhere or bond (3.6%), component incompatible (1.2%), loose or intermittent connection (1.2%) and tear, rip or hole in device packaging (1.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Nexgen Cr-Flex Gsf Femoral Component was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.