Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, mobile bearing

Device brand name · Knee prosthesis

Nexgen Lps-Flex Femoral Component: medical device reports filed with FDA

502 reports name it, 2011–2018. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Zimmer. Product code NJL.

502
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 32 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
4.8%
classified as malfunction
3.2% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 502 reports that name the brand "Nexgen Lps-Flex Femoral Component" (knee prosthesis), received between January 2011 and June 2018; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Zimmer. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (95%) and malfunction (4.8%); across all prosthesis, knee, patellofemorotibial, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, mobile bearing reports (product code NJL) death is recorded in 0% and malfunction in 3.2%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (63.9%), loose or intermittent connection (5%) and unstable (1.8%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, surgical procedure, repeated and joint swelling. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Nexgen Lps-Flex Femoral Component was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in June 2018.

By year received

0911812011: 4220112012: 18120122013: 15120132014: 6020142015: 2620152016: 2420162017: 820172018: 102018

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury95%477
Malfunction4.8%24
Other0%0
Not given0.2%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%502
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 26,046 reports carrying product code NJL. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information32163.9%19.8%
Loose or intermittent connection255%1.1%
Unstable91.8%0.2%
Explanted81.6%0.4%
Failure to adhere or bond71.4%0.2%
Device contamination with chemical or other material61.2%0.1%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging61.2%0.2%
Device remains implanted40.8%0.1%
Detachment of device component30.6%0%
Device slipped30.6%0.1%
Migration or expulsion of device30.6%1.9%
Unsealed device packaging30.6%0%
Fitting problem20.4%0%
Loose20.4%2.2%
Loss of or failure to bond20.4%18.4%
Nonstandard device20.4%0%
Device markings/labelling problema problem with the device markings or label10.2%0%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly10.2%0%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth10.2%0.4%
Malposition of device10.2%1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified37875.3%
Surgical procedure, repeated81.6%
Joint swellinga swollen joint71.4%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint61.2%
Loss of range of motion61.2%
Swellingswelling51%
Foreign body reaction30.6%
Burning sensationa burning feeling20.4%
Inflammationinflammation20.4%
Osteolysis20.4%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified20.4%
Extraskeletal ossification10.2%
Falla fall10.2%
Fibrosis10.2%
Injurya physical injury10.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureNexgen Lps-Flex Femoral ComponentProduct code NJLAll MAUDE reports
Reports50226,04626,136,888
Share of that pool—1.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports009
Classified as injury95%96.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction4.8%3.2%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NJL

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Mbt Cem Keel Tib Tray Sz31,08590%
Mbt Cem Keel Tib Tray Sz465540%
Mbt Cem Keel Tib Tray Sz2 564360%
Attune Rp Tib Base Sz 5 Cem61370%
Attune Rp Tib Base Sz 4 Cem60370%
Attune Rp Tib Base Sz 7 Cem40970%
Attune Rp Tib Base Sz 6 Cem388140.3%
Mbt Cem Keel Tib Tray Sz537130%
Pfc Sigmarp Stb Tb In 4 10 032850%
Mbt Cem Keel Tib Tray Sz229630%
Pfc Sigmarp Stb Tb In 3 10 030220%
Attune Rp Tib Base Sz 8 Cem26940%
Unknown Knee Tibial Insert2,2471300.2%
Attune Rp Tib Base Sz 3 Cem27220%
Lcs Comp Rp Insert Lg 10mm24110%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Nexgen Lps-Flex Femoral Component reports

How many FDA reports name Nexgen Lps-Flex Femoral Component?

502 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (95%) and malfunction (4.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (63.9%), loose or intermittent connection (5%), unstable (1.8%), explanted (1.6%) and failure to adhere or bond (1.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Nexgen Lps-Flex Femoral Component was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.