Reported Reactions

Devices › Implantable cardioverter defibrillator (non-crt)

Device brand name · Implantable pacemaker/cardio/defib

Maximo Vr: medical device reports filed with FDA

889 reports name it, 2005–2023. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Med Rel. Product code LWS.

889
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 41 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
22.6%
classified as malfunction
37.4% across the product code
8.1%
classified as death, as reported
72 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 889 reports that name the brand "Maximo Vr" (implantable pacemaker/cardio/defib), received between January 2005 and August 2023; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Med Rel. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (69%), malfunction (22.6%) and death (8.1%); across all implantable cardioverter defibrillator (non-crt) reports (product code LWS) death is recorded in 2.7% and malfunction in 37.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are reset problem (18.7%), inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation (9.1%) and over-sensing (7.5%). The patient problems coded most often are death, shock from patient lead(s) and failure of implant. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

012Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 2Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0841672005: 820052006: 342007: 3720072008: 432009: 4120092010: 1372011: 16720112012: 1382013: 9420132014: 562015: 4420152016: 232017: 1520172018: 162019: 1020192020: 42021: 1020212022: 42023: 82023

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death8.1%72
Injury69%613
Malfunction22.6%201
Other0%0
Not given0.3%3

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.2%882
Voluntary report0.2%2
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.6%5

Grey bar: all 380,959 reports carrying product code LWS. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Reset problem16618.7%0.3%
Inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation819.1%12.8%
Over-sensing677.5%21.1%
Premature discharge of battery525.8%8.1%
Premature elective replacement indicator485.4%1.7%
Inappropriate or unexpected reset475.3%1.1%
Device remains activated414.6%0.5%
High impedance343.8%15.6%
Low battery333.7%2.5%
Electromagnetic interference293.3%0.6%
Defective devicethe device was defective252.8%1.3%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)232.6%0.6%
Failure to charge222.5%0.3%
Battery problema problem with the battery182%2%
Invalid sensing151.7%0.6%
Failure to interrogate141.6%0.9%
Unable to obtain readings131.5%0.1%
Insufficient device problem information121.3%1.7%
Data problem111.2%0.4%
Delayed charge time111.2%0.7%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term718%
Shock from patient lead(s)536%
Failure of implant283.1%
Ventricular fibrillationa chaotic rhythm from the lower heart chambers192.1%
Electric shockan electric shock182%
Ventricular tachycardiaa fast rhythm from the lower heart chambers151.7%
Painpain, site not specified101.1%
Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection70.8%
Shockshock, a collapse of the circulation70.8%
Syncopefainting70.8%
Endocarditis60.7%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped50.6%
Bradycardiaslow heart rate40.4%
Chest painchest pain40.4%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue40.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureMaximo VrProduct code LWSAll MAUDE reports
Reports889380,95926,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports81279
Classified as injury69%59.6%36.2%
Classified as malfunction22.6%37.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.2%97.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LWS

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Sprint Quattro Secure S MRI SureScan36,8956,4361.4%
Emblem Mri S-Icd21,4803,0880.2%
Sprint Quattro Secure24,23725.2%
Emblem S-Icd17,2502,2370.1%
Sprint Fidelis17,00534014.1%
Sprint Quattro Secure S14,39802.4%
Endotak Reliance25,8972381.2%
Sprint Quattro Secure MRI SureScan15,6061,9031.4%
Endotak Reliance G10,1151,0490.6%
Teligen16,537470.6%
Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation9,6813015.6%
Sprint Quattro5,59102.6%
Reliance 4-Front9,8522,0240.4%
Sprint6,1311612.4%
Vitality 24,77901%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Maximo Vr reports

How many FDA reports name Maximo Vr?

889 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (69%), malfunction (22.6%) and death (8.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

reset problem (18.7%), inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation (9.1%), over-sensing (7.5%), premature discharge of battery (5.8%) and premature elective replacement indicator (5.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.2%) and voluntary reports (0.2%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Maximo Vr was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.