Reported Reactions

Devices › Implant, endosseous, root-form

Device brand name · Dental implant

Legacy1 Implant: medical device reports filed with FDA

490 reports name it, 2020–2023. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Implant Direct Sybron Manufacturing. Product code DZE.

490
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 82 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
1%
classified as malfunction
0.8% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 490 reports that name the brand "Legacy1 Implant" (dental implant), received between July 2020 and October 2023; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Implant Direct Sybron Manufacturing. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (99%) and malfunction (1%); across all implant, endosseous, root-form reports (product code DZE) death is recorded in 0% and malfunction in 0.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are failure to osseointegrate (49.4%), loss of osseointegration (18%) and osseointegration problem (17.1%). The patient problems coded most often are failure of implant, osteopenia/ osteoporosis and inflammation. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

02346Sep 2021: 22Oct 2021: 18Nov 2021: 13Dec 2021: 112022Jan 2022: 17Feb 2022: 36Mar 2022: 12Apr 2022: 16May 2022: 27Jun 2022: 13Jul 2022: 17Aug 2022: 21Sep 2022: 7Oct 2022: 13Nov 2022: 10Dec 2022: 42023Jan 2023: 9Feb 2023: 22Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 9May 2023: 46Jun 2023: 8Jul 2023: 18Aug 2023: 18Sep 2023: 7Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0971932020: 2120202021: 12320212022: 19320222023: 1532023

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury99%485
Malfunction1%5
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%490
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 3,924,241 reports carrying product code DZE. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Failure to osseointegrate24249.4%62.8%
Loss of osseointegration8818%22.4%
Osseointegration problem8417.1%7.7%
Positioning failure5511.2%0.1%
Fracturea broken bone112.2%1.6%
Device slipped51%0%
Separation failure40.8%0.1%
Material deformation30.6%0.1%
Positioning problem20.4%0.1%
Activation, positioning or separation problem10.2%0%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size10.2%0%
Overfill10.2%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Failure of implant490100%
Osteopenia/ osteoporosis13126.7%
Inflammationinflammation12325.1%
Granuloma5511.2%
Fibrosis5010.2%
Painpain, site not specified489.8%
Numbnessnumbness61.2%
Sensitivity of teeth61.2%
Impaired healingslow healing51%
Bone fracture(s)40.8%
Sinus perforation40.8%
Wound dehiscencea wound reopened40.8%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding10.2%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified10.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureLegacy1 ImplantProduct code DZEAll MAUDE reports
Reports4903,924,24126,136,888
Share of that pool—0%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports009
Classified as injury99%99.2%36.2%
Classified as malfunction1%0.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%77.7%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DZE

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Biohorizons Dental Implant58,73200%
BioHorizons Inc.57,02025,5360%
NobelActive Internal RP 4.3x10mm49,0989,5280%
BLT ?4.1mm RC, SLA? 10mm, TiZr, Loxim45,6509,6770%
NobelParallel CC RP 4.3x10mm44,2699,3180%
BLT ?4.1mm RC, SLActive? 10mm, TiZr, NTP41,6727,5310%
Unknown Implant39,9671,4540%
NobelReplace CC RP 4.3x10mm35,9468,1660%
NobelReplace CC PMC RP 4.3x10mm34,4478,6900%
NobelActive Internal RP 4.3x11.5mm33,1175,7040%
BLT ?3.3mm NC, SLA? 10mm, TiZr, Loxim28,6485,6950%
BLT ?4.1mm RC, SLA? 10mm, Ti, Loxim26,7248,4810%
BLT ?3.3mm NC, SLActive? 10mm, TiZr, NTP26,5404,6800%
NobelActive Internal RP 4.3x13mm25,5563,7640%
BLT ?4.1mm RC, SLA? 8mm, TiZr, Loxim24,7725,9780%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Legacy1 Implant reports

How many FDA reports name Legacy1 Implant?

490 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (99%) and malfunction (1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

failure to osseointegrate (49.4%), loss of osseointegration (18%), osseointegration problem (17.1%), positioning failure (11.2%) and fracture (2.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Legacy1 Implant was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.