Reported Reactions

Devices › Stimulator, electrical, implanted, for parkinsonian tremor

Device brand name · Stimulator electrical implanted for parkinsonian tremor

Kinetra: medical device reports filed with FDA

2,276 reports name it, 2004–2025. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Med Rel Medtronic Puerto Rico. Product code MHY.

2,276
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 103 a year
1
reports, 12 months to August 2026
5 in the 12 months before
37.3%
classified as malfunction
50.2% across the product code
2.1%
classified as death, as reported
48 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 2,276 reports that name the brand "Kinetra" (stimulator electrical implanted for parkinsonian tremor), received between June 2004 and October 2025; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Med Rel Medtronic Puerto Rico. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

1 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 80% from 5 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (58.8%), malfunction (37.3%) and death (2.1%); across all stimulator, electrical, implanted, for parkinsonian tremor reports (product code MHY) death is recorded in 1.4% and malfunction in 50.2%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device operates differently than expected (12.1%), high impedance (11.5%) and explanted (6.4%). The patient problems coded most often are therapeutic response, decreased, surgical procedure and therapeutic effects, unexpected. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

024Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 4Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

01502992004: 1120042005: 182006: 552007: 8020072008: 1942009: 2802010: 24920102011: 2252012: 2992013: 26720132014: 2142015: 1462016: 9820162017: 622018: 242019: 1120192020: 112021: 42022: 1120222023: 72024: 42025: 62025

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death2.1%48
Injury58.8%1,339
Malfunction37.3%849
Other1.7%39
Not given0%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.8%2,271
Voluntary report0.1%2
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.1%3

Grey bar: all 53,252 reports carrying product code MHY. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly27512.1%9.4%
High impedance26111.5%13.8%
Explanted1466.4%1.1%
Replace1285.6%1%
Inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation1215.3%4.6%
Premature discharge of battery1014.4%2.7%
Insufficient device problem information974.3%5.4%
Electromagnetic interference813.6%1.9%
Migration or expulsion of device793.5%2.7%
Device remains implanted753.3%1.2%
Low impedance753.3%4.9%
Breakthe device broke693%4.6%
Low battery602.6%1.8%
Intermittent continuity522.3%1.5%
Malposition of device431.9%1.9%
Failure to deliver energy411.8%5.7%
Electromagnetic compatibility problem361.6%2.4%
Fracturea broken bone341.5%0.9%
Device displays incorrect message301.3%2.7%
Impedance problem301.3%2.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Therapeutic response, decreased55924.6%
Surgical procedure1868.2%
Therapeutic effects, unexpected1516.6%
Electric shockan electric shock1255.5%
Painpain, site not specified964.2%
Complaint, ill-defined904%
Cognitive changes873.8%
Ambulation or postural difficulties843.7%
Shaking/tremors803.5%
Muscular rigidity662.9%
Surgical procedure, additional662.9%
Falla fall492.2%
Treatment with medication(s)472.1%
Hospitalization required431.9%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term421.8%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureKinetraProduct code MHYAll MAUDE reports
Reports2,27653,25226,136,888
Share of that pool—4.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports21149
Classified as injury58.8%47.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction37.3%50.2%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.8%99.6%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MHY

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Activa30,0121,1120.6%
Soletra4,710124.2%
Percept4,0411,2390.3%
Implantable Neurostimulator6,3956920.3%
Unknown Implantable Neurostimulator3,84302.2%
Infinity 7 Implantable Pulse Generator1,2581470.5%
8CH Infinity DBS Lead Kit, 40cm, 0.5, B1,128921.3%
Deep Brain Stimulation Lead75403.8%
8CH Infinity DBS Flex Extn Kit, 50cm, B7381420%
Sensight7632501.6%
8CH Infinity DBS Flex Extn Kit, 60cm, B5711200%
Unknown Deep Brain Stimulator56904.9%
Activa Pc40901.2%
External Neurostimulator1,2271020.4%
Vercise Genus1,0143382.4%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Kinetra reports

How many FDA reports name Kinetra?

2,276 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 1 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (58.8%), malfunction (37.3%) and death (2.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device operates differently than expected (12.1%), high impedance (11.5%), explanted (6.4%), replace (5.6%) and inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation (5.3%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.8%) and voluntary reports (0.1%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Kinetra was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.