Reported Reactions

Devices › Stent, superficial femoral artery

Device brand name · Stent superficial femoral artery

Innova: medical device reports filed with FDA

868 reports name it, 2005–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Boston Scientific - Maple Grove. Product code NIP.

868
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 41 a year
32
reports, 12 months to August 2026
33 in the 12 months before
53.1%
classified as malfunction
51.3% across the product code
0.7%
classified as death, as reported
6 reports · not verified by FDA

868 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Innova" (stent superficial femoral artery); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Boston Scientific - Maple Grove; received from July 2005 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

32 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, close to the 33 of the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (53.1%), injury (46.2%) and death (0.7%); across all stent, superficial femoral artery reports (product code NIP) death is recorded in 1.8% and malfunction in 51.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are activation, positioning or separation problem (35.5%), premature activation (14.3%) and fracture (11.2%). The patient problems coded most often are reocclusion, device embedded in tissue or plaque and no patient involvement. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0815Sep 2021: 4Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 3Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 15Nov 2022: 11Dec 2022: 82023Jan 2023: 6Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 5May 2023: 8Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 22024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 5Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 5Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 5Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 62026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 4Apr 2026: 2May 2026: 3Jun 2026: 3Jul 2026: 3Aug 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0961912005: 620052012: 232013: 4220132014: 312015: 3320152016: 1752017: 19120172018: 872019: 2720192020: 342021: 2920212022: 562023: 4220232024: 412025: 3220252026: 19

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.7%6
Injury46.2%401
Malfunction53.1%461
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report96%833
Voluntary report0.1%1
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given3.9%34

Grey bar: all 10,627 reports carrying product code NIP. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Activation, positioning or separation problem30835.5%7.7%
Premature activation12414.3%5%
Fracturea broken bone9711.2%9.5%
Bent9510.9%1%
Entrapment of device809.2%2.1%
Stretched748.5%4%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove495.6%7.8%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked495.6%3.5%
Material deformation293.3%8%
Breakthe device broke252.9%8.7%
Activation failure202.3%12.1%
Positioning failure151.7%6.9%
Positioning problem141.6%1%
Difficult or delayed positioning131.5%3.6%
Difficult to advance131.5%2.5%
Detachment of device component111.3%3.8%
Failure to advance80.9%2.9%
Malposition of device80.9%1.6%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off70.8%4.1%
Defective devicethe device was defective60.7%0.8%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Reocclusion697.9%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque263%
No patient involvement252.9%
Restenosis192.2%
Painpain, site not specified172%
Obstruction/occlusion131.5%
Thrombosis121.4%
Thrombosis/thrombus121.4%
Claudication111.3%
Occlusion80.9%
Perforation of vessels70.8%
Arteriosclerosis/ atherosclerosis60.7%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term60.7%
Discomfortdiscomfort30.3%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding30.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureInnovaProduct code NIPAll MAUDE reports
Reports86810,62726,136,888
Share of that pool—8.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports7189
Classified as injury46.2%46.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction53.1%51.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer96%97.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NIP

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Supera Self-Expanding Stent System1,72600.9%
GORE VIABAHN Endoprosthesis with HEPARIN Bioactive Surface9061742.1%
GORE VIABAHN Endoprosthesis985185.8%
BioMimics 3D Vascular Stent System581100%
Supera5171594.6%
Lifestent Solo Vascular Stent System39600%
Everflex Self-Expanding Peripheral Stent With Entrust Delivery System Long385260.5%
LifeStent Vascular Stent34172.9%
LifeStent 5F Vascular Stent333540.6%
GORE VIABAHN Endoprosthesis with PROPATEN Bioactive Surface341910.6%
Lifestent XL Vascular Stent267200.7%
Supera Peripheral Stent System23633.4%
Innova? Vascular203152%
Everflex Self-Expanding Peripheral Stent With Entrust Delivery System Standard197162%
Lifestent Vascular Stent System20100.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Innova reports

How many FDA reports name Innova?

868 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 32 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (53.1%), injury (46.2%) and death (0.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

activation, positioning or separation problem (35.5%), premature activation (14.3%), fracture (11.2%), bent (10.9%) and entrapment of device (9.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (96%) and voluntary reports (0.1%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Innova was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.