Reported Reactions

Devices › Stent, superficial femoral artery

Device brand name · Stent superficial femoral artery

Innova? Vascular: medical device reports filed with FDA

203 reports name it, 2018–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Boston Scientific. Product code NIP.

203
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 24 a year
15
reports, 12 months to August 2026
15 in the 12 months before
76.8%
classified as malfunction
51.3% across the product code
2%
classified as death, as reported
4 reports · not verified by FDA

203 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Innova? Vascular" (stent superficial femoral artery); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Boston Scientific; received from January 2018 to July 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

15 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, close to the 15 of the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (76.8%), injury (21.2%) and death (2%); across all stent, superficial femoral artery reports (product code NIP) death is recorded in 1.8% and malfunction in 51.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are premature activation (43.3%), activation, positioning or separation problem (15.8%) and material deformation (13.8%). The patient problems coded most often are foreign body in patient, no patient involvement and death. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

036Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 2Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 32025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 2May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 1Jul 2026: 6Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

021412018: 2320182019: 4120192020: 2120202021: 3020212022: 2220222023: 2220232024: 1920242025: 1520252026: 102026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death2%4
Injury21.2%43
Malfunction76.8%156
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report98%199
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given2%4

Grey bar: all 10,627 reports carrying product code NIP. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Premature activation8843.3%5%
Activation, positioning or separation problem3215.8%7.7%
Material deformation2813.8%8%
Entrapment of device2411.8%2.1%
Fracturea broken bone178.4%9.5%
Failure to advance167.9%2.9%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove157.4%7.8%
Difficult to advance136.4%2.5%
Positioning problem115.4%1%
Defective devicethe device was defective73.4%0.8%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material73.4%0.1%
Device-device incompatibility52.5%0.3%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert52.5%0.4%
Activation failure42%12.1%
Breakthe device broke42%8.7%
Deformation due to compressive stress31.5%0.7%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off31.5%4.1%
Device dislodged or dislocated31.5%0.9%
Difficult or delayed positioning31.5%3.6%
Activation problem21%0.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient63%
No patient involvement63%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term42%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque21%
Obstruction/occlusion21%
Perforation of vessels21%
Device overstimulation of tissue10.5%
Discomfortdiscomfort10.5%
Painpain, site not specified10.5%
Reocclusion10.5%
Restenosis10.5%
Thrombosis10.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureInnova? VascularProduct code NIPAll MAUDE reports
Reports20310,62726,136,888
Share of that pool—1.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports20189
Classified as injury21.2%46.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction76.8%51.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer98%97.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NIP

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Supera Self-Expanding Stent System1,72600.9%
GORE VIABAHN Endoprosthesis with HEPARIN Bioactive Surface9061742.1%
Innova868320.7%
GORE VIABAHN Endoprosthesis985185.8%
BioMimics 3D Vascular Stent System581100%
Supera5171594.6%
Lifestent Solo Vascular Stent System39600%
Everflex Self-Expanding Peripheral Stent With Entrust Delivery System Long385260.5%
LifeStent Vascular Stent34172.9%
LifeStent 5F Vascular Stent333540.6%
GORE VIABAHN Endoprosthesis with PROPATEN Bioactive Surface341910.6%
Lifestent XL Vascular Stent267200.7%
Supera Peripheral Stent System23633.4%
Everflex Self-Expanding Peripheral Stent With Entrust Delivery System Standard197162%
Lifestent Vascular Stent System20100.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Innova? Vascular reports

How many FDA reports name Innova? Vascular?

203 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 15 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (76.8%), injury (21.2%) and death (2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

premature activation (43.3%), activation, positioning or separation problem (15.8%), material deformation (13.8%), entrapment of device (11.8%) and fracture (8.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (98%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Innova? Vascular was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.