Reported Reactions

Devices › Pump, infusion, implanted, programmable

Device brand name · Pump infusion implanted programmable

Infusion Pump: medical device reports filed with FDA

830 reports name it, 1993–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Neuromodulation. Product code LKK.

830
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 25 a year
6
reports, 12 months to August 2026
160 in the 12 months before
46.1%
classified as malfunction
32.6% across the product code
3.7%
classified as death, as reported
31 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 830 reports that name the brand "Infusion Pump" (pump infusion implanted programmable), received between February 1993 and May 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Neuromodulation. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

6 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 96% from 160 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (46.1%), injury (44.3%) and death (3.7%); across all pump, infusion, implanted, programmable reports (product code LKK) death is recorded in 1.4% and malfunction in 32.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are failure to run on battery (15.4%), device operates differently than expected (11.9%) and excess flow or over-infusion (5.7%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, therapeutic response, decreased and muscular rigidity. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

03569Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 30Jul 2025: 69Aug 2025: 61Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 4May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0811611993: 719931994: 391995: 241996: 6119961997: 291999: 32002: 320022003: 32005: 52006: 420062008: 82009: 82010: 920102011: 52012: 952013: 15320132014: 922015: 472016: 2820162017: 102018: 42019: 720192020: 52022: 152025: 16120252026: 5

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.7%31
Injury44.3%368
Malfunction46.1%383
Other1.1%9
Not given4.7%39

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report62.7%520
Voluntary report31.8%264
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given5.5%46

Grey bar: all 117,271 reports carrying product code LKK. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Failure to run on battery12815.4%0%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly9911.9%8.1%
Excess flow or over-infusion475.7%1.9%
Migration or expulsion of device384.6%5.7%
Loose or intermittent connection293.5%0.1%
Low audible alarm293.5%0%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material293.5%5.6%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked222.7%1.8%
Insufficient flow or under infusion202.4%6.7%
Output, high202.4%0%
Disconnection182.2%1.4%
Device displays incorrect message172%4.5%
Insufficient device problem information131.6%7%
Kinkedthe tube or line kinked131.6%1.5%
Fluid/blood leak121.4%2.1%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method101.2%4%
Defective component91.1%0.1%
Device alarm system91.1%1.2%
Volume accuracy problem81%4.6%
Design/structure problem70.8%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified566.7%
Therapeutic response, decreased546.5%
Muscular rigidity364.3%
Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection303.6%
Test result293.5%
Cerebrospinal fluid leakage253%
Cognitive changes253%
Granuloma242.9%
Overdosea dose above the recommended amount232.8%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term222.7%
Abscessa collection of pus182.2%
Complaint, ill-defined172%
Staphylococcus aureus172%
Meningitis161.9%
Neurological deficit/dysfunction161.9%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureInfusion PumpProduct code LKKAll MAUDE reports
Reports830117,27126,136,888
Share of that pool—0.7%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports37149
Classified as injury44.3%64%36.2%
Classified as malfunction46.1%32.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer62.7%99.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LKK

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Synchromed El7,18924.9%
Synchromed3,42933.2%
Indura2,73000.8%
Intrathecal Catheter696180.1%
Implantable Drug Infusion Pump6491770.9%
Ascenda570140.9%
Indura Catheter37300%
Prometra Programmable Pump34806.6%
Intera 3000307990%
Isomed28112.5%
Unknown Implantable Pump23302.6%
N'vision26900.7%
Implantable Infusion Pump21103.8%
Unknown Infusion Pump15701.9%
Catheter24493.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Infusion Pump reports

How many FDA reports name Infusion Pump?

830 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 6 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (46.1%), injury (44.3%) and death (3.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

failure to run on battery (15.4%), device operates differently than expected (11.9%), excess flow or over-infusion (5.7%), migration or expulsion of device (4.6%) and loose or intermittent connection (3.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (62.7%) and voluntary reports (31.8%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Infusion Pump was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.