Reported Reactions

Devices › Instrument, ultrasonic surgical

Device brand name · Instrument ultrasonic surgical

Harmonic ACE: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,636 reports name it, 2006–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ethicon Endo-Surgery. Product code LFL.

1,636
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 80 a year
680
reports, 12 months to August 2026
8 in the 12 months before
97.1%
classified as malfunction
94.9% across the product code
0.1%
classified as death, as reported
2 reports · not verified by FDA

1,636 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Harmonic ACE" (instrument ultrasonic surgical); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ethicon Endo-Surgery; received from January 2006 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

680 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 8400% from 8 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (97.1%), injury (2%) and other (0.2%); across all instrument, ultrasonic surgical reports (product code LFL) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 94.9%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are break (21.3%), material separation (17.8%) and failure to read input signal (8.2%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, foreign body in patient and foreign body, removal of. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

069138Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 4Feb 2026: 13Mar 2026: 39Apr 2026: 109May 2026: 103Jun 2026: 135Jul 2026: 138Aug 2026: 138

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

03406792006: 1820062007: 172008: 202009: 5520092010: 492011: 372012: 4620122013: 832014: 612015: 3020152016: 162017: 3942018: 2720182019: 272020: 312021: 1720212022: 102023: 92024: 620242025: 42026: 679

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.1%2
Injury2%33
Malfunction97.1%1,588
Other0.2%3
Not given0.6%10

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report64.8%1,060
Voluntary report2.9%47
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given32.3%529

Grey bar: all 68,457 reports carrying product code LFL. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Breakthe device broke34821.3%20.5%
Material separation29117.8%11%
Failure to read input signal1348.2%8.2%
Detachment of device component1086.6%6.9%
Device displays incorrect message996.1%10.7%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off935.7%6.8%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used885.4%3.1%
Difficult or delayed activation865.3%2.5%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly664%2.7%
Activation, positioning or separation problem563.4%1%
Component falling362.2%3.9%
Melted352.1%1.4%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material311.9%1.6%
Replace241.5%13.3%
Delivered as unsterile product181.1%0.4%
Failure to cut161%1.1%
Inappropriate or unexpected reset130.8%0.7%
Defective devicethe device was defective120.7%0.6%
Insufficient device problem information120.7%1.2%
Device issuea problem with the device110.7%3.9%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
No patient involvement120.7%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient110.7%
Foreign body, removal of90.6%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque70.4%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding70.4%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional50.3%
Failure to anastomose40.2%
Blood loss30.2%
Burn, thermal30.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20.1%
Low blood pressure/ hypotension20.1%
Nonresorbable materials, unretrieved in body20.1%
Not applicable20.1%
Painpain, site not specified20.1%
Blurred vision10.1%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureHarmonic ACEProduct code LFLAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,63668,45726,136,888
Share of that pool—2.4%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports119
Classified as injury2%4.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction97.1%94.9%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer64.8%96.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LFL

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Ultracision Harmonic Ace9,35800%
Harmonic Ace Plus 7 Adv Hemostasis 366,8315370%
Harmonic Hd 1000i Shears 36cm Shaft5,0331960%
Harmonic Lap 5mm Shear 36cm2,720880%
Harmonic Ace 36 Cm2,59800.1%
Harmonic Ace 36cm W Erg Handle2,34100%
Sonicision1,8091390.2%
Harmonic Scalpel Ultracision Hand Piece1,67700.1%
SONICBEAT 5 mm, 35 cm, Front-actuated Grip1,6403730%
Harmonic 1100 Shears 36cm1,4342030.1%
Ultracision Harmonic Scalpel Hand Piece1,43000%
Harmonic Scalpel Hand Piece1,365230%
Ultracision Surg Dev Curved Shears Endo1,58600%
Harmonic Scalpel Ultracision Laparosonic Coagulating She1,06700.1%
Harmonic Ace + 795700.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Harmonic ACE reports

How many FDA reports name Harmonic ACE?

1,636 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 680 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (97.1%), injury (2%) and other (0.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

break (21.3%), material separation (17.8%), failure to read input signal (8.2%), detachment of device component (6.6%) and device displays incorrect message (6.1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (64.8%) and voluntary reports (2.9%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Harmonic ACE was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.