Reported Reactions

Devices › Instrument, ultrasonic surgical

Device brand name · Instrument ultrasonic surgical

Harmonic Ace Plus 7 Adv Hemostasis 36: medical device reports filed with FDA

6,831 reports name it, 2019–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ethicon Endo-Surgery. Product code LFL.

6,831
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 943 a year
537
reports, 12 months to August 2026
1,279 in the 12 months before
99.3%
classified as malfunction
94.9% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

6,831 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Harmonic Ace Plus 7 Adv Hemostasis 36" (instrument ultrasonic surgical); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ethicon Endo-Surgery; received from April 2019 to March 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

537 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 58% from 1,279 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (99.3%) and injury (0.7%); across all instrument, ultrasonic surgical reports (product code LFL) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 94.9%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are material separation (34.5%), failure to read input signal (20.5%) and detachment of device or device component (18.2%). The patient problems coded most often are hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding, burn(s) and obstruction/occlusion. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

094187Sep 2021: 68Oct 2021: 80Nov 2021: 92Dec 2021: 1272022Jan 2022: 53Feb 2022: 77Mar 2022: 81Apr 2022: 66May 2022: 44Jun 2022: 55Jul 2022: 79Aug 2022: 84Sep 2022: 102Oct 2022: 112Nov 2022: 119Dec 2022: 1082023Jan 2023: 118Feb 2023: 67Mar 2023: 99Apr 2023: 123May 2023: 77Jun 2023: 106Jul 2023: 119Aug 2023: 134Sep 2023: 74Oct 2023: 187Nov 2023: 116Dec 2023: 1462024Jan 2024: 128Feb 2024: 101Mar 2024: 93Apr 2024: 110May 2024: 112Jun 2024: 118Jul 2024: 107Aug 2024: 116Sep 2024: 128Oct 2024: 112Nov 2024: 87Dec 2024: 1332025Jan 2025: 112Feb 2025: 69Mar 2025: 98Apr 2025: 82May 2025: 118Jun 2025: 68Jul 2025: 157Aug 2025: 115Sep 2025: 125Oct 2025: 87Nov 2025: 54Dec 2025: 892026Jan 2026: 98Feb 2026: 62Mar 2026: 22Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

06831,3662019: 34820192020: 58320202021: 85320212022: 98020222023: 1,36620232024: 1,34520242025: 1,17420252026: 1822026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%1
Injury0.7%46
Malfunction99.3%6,784
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.9%6,825
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.1%6

Grey bar: all 68,457 reports carrying product code LFL. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Material separation2,35534.5%11%
Failure to read input signal1,40120.5%8.2%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off1,24318.2%6.8%
Difficult or delayed activation4777%2.5%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material3735.5%1.6%
Activation, positioning or separation problem2403.5%1%
Inappropriate or unexpected reset2133.1%0.7%
Breakthe device broke1522.2%20.5%
Delivered as unsterile product861.3%0.4%
Protective measures problem741.1%0.3%
Insufficient device problem information711%1.2%
Device displays incorrect message681%10.7%
Device fell681%0.4%
Device alarm system630.9%0.6%
Activation problem550.8%0.5%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem520.8%1%
Noise, audible500.7%1%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging250.4%0.2%
Smoking210.3%0.3%
Difficult to open or close170.2%0.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding110.2%
Burn(s)a burn70.1%
Obstruction/occlusion70.1%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient60.1%
Painpain, site not specified50.1%
Blood loss20%
Abscessa collection of pus10%
Anemialow red blood cells10%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10%
Failure to anastomose10%
Full thickness (third degree) burn10%
No patient involvement10%
Perforation10%
Post operative wound infection10%
Radiation exposure, unintended10%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureHarmonic Ace Plus 7 Adv Hemostasis 36Product code LFLAll MAUDE reports
Reports6,83168,45726,136,888
Share of that pool—10%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports019
Classified as injury0.7%4.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction99.3%94.9%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.9%96.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LFL

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Ultracision Harmonic Ace9,35800%
Harmonic Hd 1000i Shears 36cm Shaft5,0331960%
Harmonic Lap 5mm Shear 36cm2,720880%
Harmonic Ace 36 Cm2,59800.1%
Harmonic Ace 36cm W Erg Handle2,34100%
Sonicision1,8091390.2%
Harmonic Scalpel Ultracision Hand Piece1,67700.1%
SONICBEAT 5 mm, 35 cm, Front-actuated Grip1,6403730%
Harmonic ACE1,6366800.1%
Harmonic 1100 Shears 36cm1,4342030.1%
Ultracision Harmonic Scalpel Hand Piece1,43000%
Harmonic Scalpel Hand Piece1,365230%
Ultracision Surg Dev Curved Shears Endo1,58600%
Harmonic Scalpel Ultracision Laparosonic Coagulating She1,06700.1%
Harmonic Ace + 795700.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Harmonic Ace Plus 7 Adv Hemostasis 36 reports

How many FDA reports name Harmonic Ace Plus 7 Adv Hemostasis 36?

6,831 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 537 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (99.3%) and injury (0.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

material separation (34.5%), failure to read input signal (20.5%), detachment of device or device component (18.2%), difficult or delayed activation (7%) and material integrity problem (5.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.9%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Harmonic Ace Plus 7 Adv Hemostasis 36 was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.