Reported Reactions

Devices › Staple, implantable

Device brand name · Staple implantable

Gst Gold Reload 60mm 6 Row: medical device reports filed with FDA

435 reports name it, 2017–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ethicon Endo-Surgery. Product code GDW.

435
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 50 a year
48
reports, 12 months to August 2026
64 in the 12 months before
92.4%
classified as malfunction
80.3% across the product code
0.2%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 435 reports that name the brand "Gst Gold Reload 60mm 6 Row" (staple implantable), received between October 2017 and February 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ethicon Endo-Surgery. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

48 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 25% from 64 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (92.4%), injury (7.4%) and death (0.2%); across all staple, implantable reports (product code GDW) death is recorded in 0.6% and malfunction in 80.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are failure to form staple (44.4%), failure to fire (14%) and material integrity problem (4.4%). The patient problems coded most often are hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding, failure to anastomose and blood loss. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0918Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 18Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 52022Jan 2022: 13Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 8Jul 2022: 8Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 6Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 6Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 5Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 92024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 12Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 6Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 10Nov 2024: 5Dec 2024: 52025Jan 2025: 2Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 9Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 4Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 12Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 15Nov 2025: 7Dec 2025: 62026Jan 2026: 13Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

037732017: 720172018: 3620182019: 3220192020: 4320202021: 6920212022: 5720222023: 4720232024: 5620242025: 7320252026: 152026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.2%1
Injury7.4%32
Malfunction92.4%402
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%435
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 170,752 reports carrying product code GDW. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Failure to form staple19344.4%20.5%
Failure to fire6114%30%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material194.4%0.7%
Unintended ejection184.1%0.3%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off153.4%2.4%
Breakthe device broke92.1%4.9%
Delivered as unsterile product81.8%0.3%
Difficult to open or close71.6%9.7%
Ejection problem61.4%0.8%
Insufficient device problem information51.1%2.9%
Structural problem51.1%0.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly40.9%2.3%
Firing problem40.9%1.6%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem40.9%1.1%
Patient device interaction problem40.9%0.7%
Device markings/labelling problema problem with the device markings or label30.7%0.2%
Material separation30.7%0.2%
Mechanical jam30.7%2.3%
Activation, positioning or separation problem20.5%0.2%
Defective devicethe device was defective20.5%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding153.4%
Failure to anastomose102.3%
Blood loss51.1%
Fistula51.1%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient51.1%
Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm10.2%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped10.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.2%
Not applicable10.2%
Painpain, site not specified10.2%
Peritonitis10.2%
Pneumothoraxa collapsed lung10.2%
Wound dehiscencea wound reopened10.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureGst Gold Reload 60mm 6 RowProduct code GDWAll MAUDE reports
Reports435170,75226,136,888
Share of that pool—0.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports269
Classified as injury7.4%18.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction92.4%80.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code GDW

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Endo GIA30,6192,0860.3%
Endo GIA Ultra17,2811,1160.1%
Signia9,4341,1300.1%
Tri-Staple 2.05,2676610.3%
Gia4,8994040.9%
Eea4,9225420.8%
Powered 60 Echelon + 340mm Shaft3,2372240.4%
Ets Flex Articng Lnr Cutr 45mm2,512790.3%
Unknown Endo GIA SULU2,4082051.9%
SureForm2,9276541.2%
Contour Curved Cutter Stapler1,961110.3%
Ils 29mm Curved1,945480.9%
Powered 60 Echelon + 440mm Shaft1,775490.4%
Echelon Flex Powered Vascular Stapler With Advanced Placement Tip1,7701801.6%
75mm Selectable New Tlc1,603571.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Gst Gold Reload 60mm 6 Row reports

How many FDA reports name Gst Gold Reload 60mm 6 Row?

435 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 48 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (92.4%), injury (7.4%) and death (0.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

failure to form staple (44.4%), failure to fire (14%), material integrity problem (4.4%), unintended ejection (4.1%) and detachment of device or device component (3.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Gst Gold Reload 60mm 6 Row was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.