Devices › Implantable cardioverter defibrillator (non-crt)
Device brand name · Implantable cardioverter defibrillator
Fortify Assura Vr Df-4 Connector: medical device reports filed with FDA
234 reports name it, 2013–2015. Manufacturer given most often on reports: St Jude Medical Crmd. Product code LWS.
- 234
- device reports naming the brand
- 0% of all MAUDE reports · about 18 a year
- 0
- reports, 12 months to August 2026
- 0 in the 12 months before
- 56.4%
- classified as malfunction
- 37.4% across the product code
- 0.4%
- classified as death, as reported
- 1 reports · not verified by FDA
FDA's MAUDE database holds 234 reports that name the brand "Fortify Assura Vr Df-4 Connector" (implantable cardioverter defibrillator), received between September 2013 and May 2015; the manufacturer given most often on reports is St Jude Medical Crmd. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.
0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (56.4%), injury (43.2%) and death (0.4%); across all implantable cardioverter defibrillator (non-crt) reports (product code LWS) death is recorded in 2.7% and malfunction in 37.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.
The device problems coded most often are over-sensing (32.9%), inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation (16.7%) and device operates differently than expected (15%). The patient problems coded most often are shock from patient lead(s), device overstimulation of tissue and hematoma. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Reports by month, five years
No report naming Fortify Assura Vr Df-4 Connector was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in May 2015.
By year received
Event type and report source
Event type, as classified on the report
Who filed the report
Grey bar: all 380,959 reports carrying product code LWS. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.
Device problems coded
| Device problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share | Share across product code |
|---|---|---|---|
| Over-sensing | 77 | 32.9% | 21.1% |
| Inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation | 39 | 16.7% | 12.8% |
| Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly | 35 | 15% | 1.6% |
| Inappropriate or unexpected reset | 16 | 6.8% | 1.1% |
| High impedance | 14 | 6% | 15.6% |
| Connection problema connection problem | 7 | 3% | 0.8% |
| Under-sensing | 7 | 3% | 3.1% |
| Failure to convert rhythm | 6 | 2.6% | 0.9% |
| Failure to capture | 4 | 1.7% | 2.6% |
| Decreased sensitivity | 3 | 1.3% | 1% |
| Intermittent capture | 3 | 1.3% | 0.2% |
| Premature discharge of battery | 3 | 1.3% | 8.1% |
| Battery problema problem with the battery | 2 | 0.9% | 2% |
| Device displays incorrect message | 2 | 0.9% | 1.7% |
| Failure to interrogate | 2 | 0.9% | 0.9% |
| High capture threshold | 2 | 0.9% | 3.6% |
| Aborted charge | 1 | 0.4% | 0% |
| Capturing problem | 1 | 0.4% | 1.5% |
| Data problem | 1 | 0.4% | 0.4% |
| Defibrillation/stimulation problem | 1 | 0.4% | 1% |
FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.
Patient problems coded
| Patient problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Shock from patient lead(s) | 32 | 13.7% |
| Device overstimulation of tissue | 14 | 6% |
| Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue | 3 | 1.3% |
| Ventricular tachycardiaa fast rhythm from the lower heart chambers | 3 | 1.3% |
| Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction | 2 | 0.9% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 2 | 0.9% |
| Pocket erosion | 2 | 0.9% |
| Swellingswelling | 2 | 0.9% |
| Ventricular fibrillationa chaotic rhythm from the lower heart chambers | 2 | 0.9% |
| Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection | 1 | 0.4% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 1 | 0.4% |
| Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness | 1 | 0.4% |
| Erosion | 1 | 0.4% |
| Fainting | 1 | 0.4% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 1 | 0.4% |
Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.
In context
| Measure | Fortify Assura Vr Df-4 Connector | Product code LWS | All MAUDE reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports | 234 | 380,959 | 26,136,888 |
| Share of that pool | — | 0.1% | 0% |
| Classified as death, per 1,000 reports | 4 | 27 | 9 |
| Classified as injury | 43.2% | 59.6% | 36.2% |
| Classified as malfunction | 56.4% | 37.4% | 62.3% |
| Filed by the manufacturer | 100% | 97.8% | 94.9% |
Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Other brands with product code LWS
| Brand | Reports | Latest 12 months | Classified as death |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sprint Quattro Secure S MRI SureScan | 36,895 | 6,436 | 1.4% |
| Emblem Mri S-Icd | 21,480 | 3,088 | 0.2% |
| Sprint Quattro Secure | 24,237 | 2 | 5.2% |
| Emblem S-Icd | 17,250 | 2,237 | 0.1% |
| Sprint Fidelis | 17,005 | 340 | 14.1% |
| Sprint Quattro Secure S | 14,398 | 0 | 2.4% |
| Endotak Reliance | 25,897 | 238 | 1.2% |
| Sprint Quattro Secure MRI SureScan | 15,606 | 1,903 | 1.4% |
| Endotak Reliance G | 10,115 | 1,049 | 0.6% |
| Teligen | 16,537 | 47 | 0.6% |
| Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation | 9,681 | 301 | 5.6% |
| Sprint Quattro | 5,591 | 0 | 2.6% |
| Reliance 4-Front | 9,852 | 2,024 | 0.4% |
| Sprint | 6,131 | 161 | 2.4% |
| Vitality 2 | 4,779 | 0 | 1% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."
Questions about Fortify Assura Vr Df-4 Connector reports
How many FDA reports name Fortify Assura Vr Df-4 Connector?
234 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.
What kinds of events are reported?
malfunction (56.4%), injury (43.2%) and death (0.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.
What device problems are coded?
over-sensing (32.9%), inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation (16.7%), device operates differently than expected (15%), inappropriate or unexpected reset (6.8%) and high impedance (6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.
Who files these reports?
manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.
Do these reports show that Fortify Assura Vr Df-4 Connector was at fault?
No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."
How do I report a problem with a medical device?
Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.