Reported Reactions

Devices › Implantable cardioverter defibrillator (non-crt)

Device brand name · Implantable cardioverter defibrillator

Fortify Vr: medical device reports filed with FDA

355 reports name it, 2011–2015. Manufacturer given most often on reports: St Jude Medical Crmd. Product code LWS.

355
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 23 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
54.4%
classified as malfunction
37.4% across the product code
1.4%
classified as death, as reported
5 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 355 reports that name the brand "Fortify Vr" (implantable cardioverter defibrillator), received between January 2011 and May 2015; the manufacturer given most often on reports is St Jude Medical Crmd. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (54.4%), injury (44.2%) and death (1.4%); across all implantable cardioverter defibrillator (non-crt) reports (product code LWS) death is recorded in 2.7% and malfunction in 37.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are high impedance (23.1%), over-sensing (14.9%) and inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation (13.2%). The patient problems coded most often are shock from patient lead(s), device overstimulation of tissue and failure of implant. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Fortify Vr was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in May 2015.

By year received

01092182011: 1720112012: 2720122013: 6320132014: 21820142015: 302015

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.4%5
Injury44.2%157
Malfunction54.4%193
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%355
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 380,959 reports carrying product code LWS. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
High impedance8223.1%15.6%
Over-sensing5314.9%21.1%
Inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation4713.2%12.8%
Inappropriate or unexpected reset318.7%1.1%
Failure to interrogate308.5%0.9%
False alarm246.8%0.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly164.5%1.6%
Delayed charge time143.9%0.7%
Output problem133.7%0.2%
Premature discharge of battery113.1%8.1%
Defibrillation/stimulation problem102.8%1%
Impedance problem82.3%4.4%
Connection problema connection problem72%0.8%
Premature elective replacement indicator72%1.7%
Loose or intermittent connection61.7%0.3%
Therapeutic or diagnostic output failure61.7%0.1%
Low impedance51.4%2.8%
Under-sensing51.4%3.1%
Failure to convert rhythm41.1%0.9%
Decreased sensitivity30.8%1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Shock from patient lead(s)318.7%
Device overstimulation of tissue154.2%
Failure of implant72%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term51.4%
Discomfortdiscomfort30.8%
Ventricular fibrillationa chaotic rhythm from the lower heart chambers30.8%
Muscle stimulation20.6%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped10.3%
Chest painchest pain10.3%
Electrolyte imbalance10.3%
Fatiguetiredness10.3%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue10.3%
Loss of consciousnesspassing out10.3%
Nauseafeeling sick10.3%
Painpain, site not specified10.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureFortify VrProduct code LWSAll MAUDE reports
Reports355380,95926,136,888
Share of that pool—0.1%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports14279
Classified as injury44.2%59.6%36.2%
Classified as malfunction54.4%37.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LWS

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Sprint Quattro Secure S MRI SureScan36,8956,4361.4%
Emblem Mri S-Icd21,4803,0880.2%
Sprint Quattro Secure24,23725.2%
Emblem S-Icd17,2502,2370.1%
Sprint Fidelis17,00534014.1%
Sprint Quattro Secure S14,39802.4%
Endotak Reliance25,8972381.2%
Sprint Quattro Secure MRI SureScan15,6061,9031.4%
Endotak Reliance G10,1151,0490.6%
Teligen16,537470.6%
Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation9,6813015.6%
Sprint Quattro5,59102.6%
Reliance 4-Front9,8522,0240.4%
Sprint6,1311612.4%
Vitality 24,77901%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Fortify Vr reports

How many FDA reports name Fortify Vr?

355 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (54.4%), injury (44.2%) and death (1.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

high impedance (23.1%), over-sensing (14.9%), inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation (13.2%), inappropriate or unexpected reset (8.7%) and failure to interrogate (8.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Fortify Vr was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.