Reported Reactions

Devices › Staple, implantable

Device brand name · Staple implantable

Flex 60 Articulating: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,492 reports name it, 2015–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ethicon Endo-Surgery. Product code GDW.

1,492
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 136 a year
79
reports, 12 months to August 2026
192 in the 12 months before
87.3%
classified as malfunction
80.3% across the product code
0.7%
classified as death, as reported
10 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 1,492 reports that name the brand "Flex 60 Articulating" (staple implantable), received between July 2015 and March 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ethicon Endo-Surgery. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

79 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 59% from 192 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (87.3%), injury (12.1%) and death (0.7%); across all staple, implantable reports (product code GDW) death is recorded in 0.6% and malfunction in 80.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are difficult to open or close (34.8%), failure to fire (31.5%) and failure to form staple (21%). The patient problems coded most often are hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding, failure to anastomose and blood loss. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01530Sep 2021: 17Oct 2021: 11Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 202022Jan 2022: 19Feb 2022: 5Mar 2022: 12Apr 2022: 16May 2022: 8Jun 2022: 15Jul 2022: 11Aug 2022: 13Sep 2022: 8Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 15Dec 2022: 242023Jan 2023: 8Feb 2023: 12Mar 2023: 14Apr 2023: 9May 2023: 14Jun 2023: 13Jul 2023: 21Aug 2023: 29Sep 2023: 10Oct 2023: 14Nov 2023: 27Dec 2023: 172024Jan 2024: 18Feb 2024: 18Mar 2024: 12Apr 2024: 9May 2024: 17Jun 2024: 17Jul 2024: 12Aug 2024: 11Sep 2024: 28Oct 2024: 13Nov 2024: 18Dec 2024: 142025Jan 2025: 10Feb 2025: 30Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 14May 2025: 16Jun 2025: 12Jul 2025: 25Aug 2025: 9Sep 2025: 14Oct 2025: 13Nov 2025: 7Dec 2025: 162026Jan 2026: 15Feb 2026: 7Mar 2026: 7Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

01162312015: 320152017: 462018: 23120182019: 2072020: 13620202021: 1412022: 15520222023: 1882024: 18720242025: 1692026: 292026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.7%10
Injury12.1%180
Malfunction87.3%1,302
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%1,492
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 170,752 reports carrying product code GDW. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Difficult to open or close51934.8%9.7%
Failure to fire47031.5%30%
Failure to form staple31321%20.5%
Mechanical jam1047%2.3%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem644.3%1.1%
Firing problem432.9%1.6%
Failure to cut422.8%2.4%
Patient device interaction problem281.9%0.7%
Insufficient device problem information251.7%2.9%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material211.4%0.7%
Retraction problem201.3%1.2%
Ejection problem140.9%0.8%
Physical resistance/sticking130.9%0.3%
Breakthe device broke120.8%4.9%
Defective devicethe device was defective110.7%0.2%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly100.7%2.3%
Complete blockage70.5%0%
Component or accessory incompatibility70.5%0.7%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove70.5%1.7%
Positioning failure70.5%1.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding563.8%
Failure to anastomose382.5%
Blood loss362.4%
Fistula140.9%
Abscessa collection of pus100.7%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue100.7%
Not applicable100.7%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term90.6%
Fever50.3%
Obstruction/occlusion50.3%
Peritonitis50.3%
Pneumothoraxa collapsed lung50.3%
Wound dehiscencea wound reopened40.3%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available20.1%
Painpain, site not specified20.1%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureFlex 60 ArticulatingProduct code GDWAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,492170,75226,136,888
Share of that pool—0.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports769
Classified as injury12.1%18.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction87.3%80.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code GDW

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Endo GIA30,6192,0860.3%
Endo GIA Ultra17,2811,1160.1%
Signia9,4341,1300.1%
Tri-Staple 2.05,2676610.3%
Gia4,8994040.9%
Eea4,9225420.8%
Powered 60 Echelon + 340mm Shaft3,2372240.4%
Ets Flex Articng Lnr Cutr 45mm2,512790.3%
Unknown Endo GIA SULU2,4082051.9%
SureForm2,9276541.2%
Contour Curved Cutter Stapler1,961110.3%
Ils 29mm Curved1,945480.9%
Powered 60 Echelon + 440mm Shaft1,775490.4%
Echelon Flex Powered Vascular Stapler With Advanced Placement Tip1,7701801.6%
75mm Selectable New Tlc1,603571.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Flex 60 Articulating reports

How many FDA reports name Flex 60 Articulating?

1,492 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 79 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (87.3%), injury (12.1%) and death (0.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

difficult to open or close (34.8%), failure to fire (31.5%), failure to form staple (21%), mechanical jam (7%) and mechanical problem (4.3%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Flex 60 Articulating was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.