Reported Reactions

Devices › Thoracolumbosacral pedicle screw system

Device brand name · Pedicle screw spinal system

Everest Spinal System: medical device reports filed with FDA

191 reports name it, 2014–2019. Manufacturer given most often on reports: K2m. Product code NKB.

191
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 16 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
25.1%
classified as malfunction
41.2% across the product code
1%
classified as death, as reported
2 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 191 reports that name the brand "Everest Spinal System" (pedicle screw spinal system), received between November 2014 and September 2019; the manufacturer given most often on reports is K2m. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (71.7%), malfunction (25.1%) and death (1%); across all thoracolumbosacral pedicle screw system reports (product code NKB) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 41.2%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are migration or expulsion of device (38.2%), break (30.4%) and fracture (12%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, injury and fall. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Everest Spinal System was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in September 2019.

By year received

029582014: 320142015: 1720152016: 2820162017: 5820172018: 5720182019: 282019

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1%2
Injury71.7%137
Malfunction25.1%48
Other0%0
Not given2.1%4

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.5%190
Voluntary report0.5%1
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 24,738 reports carrying product code NKB. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Migration or expulsion of device7338.2%4.6%
Breakthe device broke5830.4%21.4%
Fracturea broken bone2312%8.1%
Insufficient device problem information199.9%3.2%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed147.3%6.1%
Device operational issue63.1%0%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly42.1%2.3%
Bent21%0.4%
Device slipped21%6%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth21%2.8%
Material twisted/bent21%2%
Unintended movement21%1.5%
Component missing10.5%0%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off10.5%2.8%
Device dislodged or dislocated10.5%4.4%
Device issuea problem with the device10.5%0%
Device-device incompatibility10.5%1.3%
Disassembly10.5%0.9%
Noise, audible10.5%0.2%
Separation failure10.5%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified2613.6%
Injurya physical injury52.6%
Falla fall42.1%
Paralysis42.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term21%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque10.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureEverest Spinal SystemProduct code NKBAll MAUDE reports
Reports19124,73826,136,888
Share of that pool—0.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports1039
Classified as injury71.7%58.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction25.1%41.2%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.5%99.2%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NKB

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
CD HORIZON Spinal System9,7876340.3%
Ti Matrix Locking Cap48901.2%
Blocker45600%
Nuvasive Reline System46881.5%
Single-Inner Setscrew454190%
Closure Top440270%
CD HORIZON SOLERA VOYAGER Spinal System7752160.1%
5 5 Exp Verse Unitized Set Scr309110%
Open Implant Closure Top27700%
Unknown Mono/Polyaxial Screws39000%
CD HORIZON SOLERA Spinal System320680%
Verse Correction Key28830%
Xia 3 Titanium Blocker34070%
Mis Single Inner Setscw20990.5%
Unknown_Spine_Product596240%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Everest Spinal System reports

How many FDA reports name Everest Spinal System?

191 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (71.7%), malfunction (25.1%) and death (1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

migration or expulsion of device (38.2%), break (30.4%), fracture (12%), insufficient device problem information (9.9%) and migration (7.3%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.5%) and voluntary reports (0.5%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Everest Spinal System was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.