Reported Reactions

Devices › Thoracolumbosacral pedicle screw system

Device brand name · Orthosis spinal pedicle fixation for degenerative disc disease

Single-Inner Setscrew: medical device reports filed with FDA

454 reports name it, 2013–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medos International S Rl Ch. Product code NKB.

454
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 34 a year
19
reports, 12 months to August 2026
5 in the 12 months before
30.4%
classified as malfunction
41.2% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 454 reports that name the brand "Single-Inner Setscrew" (orthosis spinal pedicle fixation for degenerative disc disease), received between January 2013 and January 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medos International S Rl Ch. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

19 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 280% from 5 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (69.6%) and malfunction (30.4%); across all thoracolumbosacral pedicle screw system reports (product code NKB) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 41.2%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are loose or intermittent connection (20.7%), material twisted/bent (17%) and device slipped (12.6%). The patient problems coded most often are injury, osteolysis and pain. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01631Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 5Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 5Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 19Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 10Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 16Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 31Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 10Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 10Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 6Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

048962013: 320132014: 92015: 3620152016: 262017: 920172018: 442019: 9620192020: 432021: 2320212022: 522023: 3220232024: 582025: 1720252026: 6

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury69.6%316
Malfunction30.4%138
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%454
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 24,738 reports carrying product code NKB. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Loose or intermittent connection9420.7%4.6%
Material twisted/bent7717%2%
Device slipped5712.6%6%
Material split, cut or torn235.1%0.4%
Breakthe device broke194.2%21.4%
Torn material132.9%1.2%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed112.4%6.1%
Device dislodged or dislocated92%4.4%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off71.5%2.8%
Unintended movement71.5%1.5%
Device-device incompatibility61.3%1.3%
Migration or expulsion of device61.3%4.6%
Compatibility problem30.7%0.3%
Insufficient device problem information30.7%3.2%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material30.7%0.6%
Crackthe device cracked20.4%0.4%
Material deformation20.4%5.5%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth10.2%2.8%
Peeled/delaminated10.2%0%
Temperature problem10.2%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Injurya physical injury408.8%
Osteolysis337.3%
Painpain, site not specified224.8%
Nonunion/delayed-union bone fracture184%
Spinal column injury173.7%
Failure of implant143.1%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available122.6%
Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction122.6%
Joint laxity102.2%
Pressure sore/ulcer92%
Not applicable81.8%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified81.8%
Neurological deficit/dysfunction61.3%
Fever51.1%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness40.9%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureSingle-Inner SetscrewProduct code NKBAll MAUDE reports
Reports45424,73826,136,888
Share of that pool—1.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports039
Classified as injury69.6%58.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction30.4%41.2%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.2%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NKB

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
CD HORIZON Spinal System9,7876340.3%
Ti Matrix Locking Cap48901.2%
Blocker45600%
Nuvasive Reline System46881.5%
Closure Top440270%
CD HORIZON SOLERA VOYAGER Spinal System7752160.1%
5 5 Exp Verse Unitized Set Scr309110%
Open Implant Closure Top27700%
Unknown Mono/Polyaxial Screws39000%
CD HORIZON SOLERA Spinal System320680%
Verse Correction Key28830%
Xia 3 Titanium Blocker34070%
Mis Single Inner Setscw20990.5%
Unknown_Spine_Product596240%
Ti 12-Point Nut-11mm17400%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Single-Inner Setscrew reports

How many FDA reports name Single-Inner Setscrew?

454 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 19 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (69.6%) and malfunction (30.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

loose or intermittent connection (20.7%), material twisted/bent (17%), device slipped (12.6%), material split, cut or torn (5.1%) and break (4.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Single-Inner Setscrew was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.