Reported Reactions

Devices › Stent, iliac

Device brand name · Stent iliac

Epic? Vascular: medical device reports filed with FDA

454 reports name it, 2012–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Boston Scientific - Maple Grove. Product code NIO.

454
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 33 a year
18
reports, 12 months to August 2026
10 in the 12 months before
60.6%
classified as malfunction
54.5% across the product code
1.8%
classified as death, as reported
8 reports · not verified by FDA

454 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Epic? Vascular" (stent iliac); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Boston Scientific - Maple Grove; received from August 2012 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

18 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 80% from 10 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (60.6%), injury (37.7%) and death (1.8%); across all stent, iliac reports (product code NIO) death is recorded in 2.9% and malfunction in 54.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are activation, positioning or separation problem (27.3%), premature activation (12.3%) and bent (11.2%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, thrombosis and death. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

047Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 5Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 22024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 3Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 2Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 42026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 2Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 2Jun 2026: 1Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

030602012: 1920122013: 592014: 4720142015: 602016: 3720162017: 322018: 2320182019: 222020: 2220202021: 332022: 2720222023: 282024: 2120242025: 152026: 92026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.8%8
Injury37.7%171
Malfunction60.6%275
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.8%453
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.2%1

Grey bar: all 7,265 reports carrying product code NIO. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Activation, positioning or separation problem12427.3%5%
Premature activation5612.3%7.5%
Bent5111.2%1.5%
Entrapment of device398.6%1.5%
Material deformation388.4%5.8%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove255.5%10.2%
Device damaged prior to usethe device was damaged before use194.2%0.9%
Breakthe device broke163.5%3.6%
Positioning problem163.5%1.6%
Migration or expulsion of device143.1%1.9%
Failure to advance122.6%5.8%
Defective devicethe device was defective112.4%0.7%
Difficult to advance112.4%4.2%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed112.4%1.2%
Positioning failure112.4%3.4%
Activation failure102.2%5.8%
Detachment of device component102.2%1.2%
Fracturea broken bone81.8%2.8%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off61.3%3.5%
Malposition of device51.1%1.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
No patient involvement429.3%
Thrombosis51.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term40.9%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque40.9%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient40.9%
Painpain, site not specified40.9%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding30.7%
Intimal dissection30.7%
Low blood pressure/ hypotension30.7%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped20.4%
Obstruction/occlusion20.4%
Occlusion20.4%
Perforation of vessels20.4%
Reocclusion20.4%
Stroke/cva20.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureEpic? VascularProduct code NIOAll MAUDE reports
Reports4547,26526,136,888
Share of that pool—6.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports18299
Classified as injury37.7%42.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction60.6%54.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.8%98.7%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NIO

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Omnilink Elite Peripheral Stent System84100.6%
Smart Control Nitinol Stent System1,43801.7%
E-Luminexx Vascular Stent472325.1%
Express LD Iliac / Biliary420151.4%
Absolute Pro Vascular Self-Expanding Stent System52001%
Epic429321.2%
Complete Se Iliac34105%
Omnilink Elite2631152.3%
Advanta V12 Covered Stent340012.6%
Absolute Pro2521361.6%
Visi-Pro Balloon-Expandable Stent System319244.1%
Zilver Flex 35 Vascular Self-Expanding Stent203230.5%
GORE VIABAHN VBX Balloon Expandable Endoprosthesis1,4852954.9%
Assurant Cobalt16901.2%
Absolute Pro .035 Self Expanding Stent System858380.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Epic? Vascular reports

How many FDA reports name Epic? Vascular?

454 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 18 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (60.6%), injury (37.7%) and death (1.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

activation, positioning or separation problem (27.3%), premature activation (12.3%), bent (11.2%), entrapment of device (8.6%) and material deformation (8.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.8%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Epic? Vascular was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.