Reported Reactions

Devices › Staple, implantable

Device brand name · Staple implantable

Egia Ultra Universal Stapler: medical device reports filed with FDA

422 reports name it, 2010–2017. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Covidien Formerly Ussc Puerto Rico. Product code GDW.

422
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 26 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
5.7%
classified as malfunction
80.3% across the product code
2.8%
classified as death, as reported
12 reports · not verified by FDA

422 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Egia Ultra Universal Stapler" (staple implantable); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Covidien Formerly Ussc Puerto Rico; received from June 2010 to March 2017. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (91.2%), malfunction (5.7%) and death (2.8%); across all staple, implantable reports (product code GDW) death is recorded in 0.6% and malfunction in 80.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are failure to form staple (24.2%), difficult to open or close (17.1%) and failure to fire (12.6%). The patient problems coded most often are tissue damage, hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding and injury. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Egia Ultra Universal Stapler was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in March 2017.

By year received

047932010: 1220102011: 4720112012: 5320122013: 5420132014: 8420142015: 6520152016: 9320162017: 142017

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death2.8%12
Injury91.2%385
Malfunction5.7%24
Other0.2%1
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.5%420
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.5%2

Grey bar: all 170,752 reports carrying product code GDW. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Failure to form staple10224.2%20.5%
Difficult to open or close7217.1%9.7%
Failure to fire5312.6%30%
Entrapment of device4610.9%3.2%
Misfire4610.9%9.1%
Noise, audible399.2%2.3%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly358.3%2.3%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove327.6%1.7%
Mechanical jam235.5%2.3%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem184.3%1.1%
Retraction problem174%1.2%
Breakthe device broke163.8%4.9%
Insufficient device problem information153.6%2.9%
Sticking143.3%1.2%
Positioning failure122.8%1.1%
Detachment of device component81.9%1.2%
Failure to adhere or bond81.9%0.4%
Activation, positioning or separation problem71.7%0.2%
Failure to cycle71.7%0.2%
Device stops intermittentlythe device stopped now and then61.4%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Tissue damage15236%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding8620.4%
Injurya physical injury6214.7%
Failure to anastomose4510.7%
Blood loss389%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term122.8%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque51.2%
Fistula40.9%
Laceration(s)40.9%
Exsanguination30.7%
Painpain, site not specified30.7%
Perforation30.7%
Wound dehiscencea wound reopened30.7%
Abscessa collection of pus20.5%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient20.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureEgia Ultra Universal StaplerProduct code GDWAll MAUDE reports
Reports422170,75226,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports2869
Classified as injury91.2%18.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction5.7%80.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.5%97%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code GDW

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Endo GIA30,6192,0860.3%
Endo GIA Ultra17,2811,1160.1%
Signia9,4341,1300.1%
Tri-Staple 2.05,2676610.3%
Gia4,8994040.9%
Eea4,9225420.8%
Powered 60 Echelon + 340mm Shaft3,2372240.4%
Ets Flex Articng Lnr Cutr 45mm2,512790.3%
Unknown Endo GIA SULU2,4082051.9%
SureForm2,9276541.2%
Contour Curved Cutter Stapler1,961110.3%
Ils 29mm Curved1,945480.9%
Powered 60 Echelon + 440mm Shaft1,775490.4%
Echelon Flex Powered Vascular Stapler With Advanced Placement Tip1,7701801.6%
75mm Selectable New Tlc1,603571.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Egia Ultra Universal Stapler reports

How many FDA reports name Egia Ultra Universal Stapler?

422 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (91.2%), malfunction (5.7%) and death (2.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

failure to form staple (24.2%), difficult to open or close (17.1%), failure to fire (12.6%), entrapment of device (10.9%) and misfire (10.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.5%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Egia Ultra Universal Stapler was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.