Reported Reactions

Devices › Catheter, intravascular, diagnostic

Device brand name · Catheter balloon dilation of cervical canal prior to labor

Cook: medical device reports filed with FDA

271 reports name it, 1996–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Cook. Product code DQO.

271
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 9 a year
6
reports, 12 months to August 2026
12 in the 12 months before
45%
classified as malfunction
56% across the product code
2.2%
classified as death, as reported
6 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 271 reports that name the brand "Cook" (catheter balloon dilation of cervical canal prior to labor), received between September 1996 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Cook. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

6 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 50% from 12 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (47.6%), malfunction (45%) and other (4.4%); across all catheter, intravascular, diagnostic reports (product code DQO) death is recorded in 2.2% and malfunction in 56%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are break (12.2%), difficult to remove (5.9%) and replace (4.8%). The patient problems coded most often are foreign body, removal of, surgical procedure and therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

023Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 2Aug 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

011211996: 519961997: 81998: 171999: 1119992000: 62001: 152002: 1620022003: 212004: 122005: 1120052006: 142007: 72008: 1020082009: 102010: 112011: 820112012: 42013: 92017: 1620172018: 72019: 72020: 520202021: 102022: 62023: 520232024: 62025: 92026: 52026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death2.2%6
Injury47.6%129
Malfunction45%122
Other4.4%12
Not given0.7%2

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report1.8%5
Voluntary report35.8%97
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given62.4%169

Grey bar: all 20,198 reports carrying product code DQO. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Breakthe device broke3312.2%13.8%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove165.9%8.7%
Replace134.8%5.5%
Device, or device fragments remain in patient124.4%2.4%
Explanted114.1%4.8%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert93.3%3.5%
Material separation83%9.8%
Detachment of device component72.6%3.8%
Wire(s), breakage of72.6%0.7%
Migration or expulsion of device51.8%3.1%
Crackthe device cracked41.5%3.3%
Tip breakage41.5%3.4%
Bent31.1%0.5%
Device, removal of (non-implant)31.1%3.1%
Disconnection31.1%0.7%
Entrapment of device31.1%1.5%
Fracturea broken bone31.1%7.8%
Leak/splashthe device leaked31.1%6.2%
Difficult or delayed positioning20.7%0.2%
Dislodged20.7%0.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Foreign body, removal of269.6%
Surgical procedure269.6%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional238.5%
Surgical procedure, repeated72.6%
Hospitalization required62.2%
Necrosisdeath of tissue62.2%
Nonresorbable materials, unretrieved in body51.8%
Surgical procedure, additional51.8%
Bleeding41.5%
Painpain, site not specified41.5%
Swellingswelling41.5%
Abscessa collection of pus31.1%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient31.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20.7%
Inflammationinflammation20.7%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureCookProduct code DQOAll MAUDE reports
Reports27120,19826,136,888
Share of that pool—1.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports22229
Classified as injury47.6%37.6%36.2%
Classified as malfunction45%56%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer1.8%82.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DQO

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Merit Custom Kit1,590130.1%
Ultrasonic Imaging Catheter - Coronary56900%
Trapease Pvcf Fem/Jug 55cm Csi98303.7%
466p306x71701.8%
Renegade30100.3%
Infiniti2671410%
Tempo7211550.7%
Impress Braided Catheter21500%
Impress200251%
Impress Peripheral Catheter18600%
Dragonfly OpStar187880.5%
V-Cath17501.7%
Arrow830653.4%
Bard1,12421.8%
Trapease Filter165013.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Cook reports

How many FDA reports name Cook?

271 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 6 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (47.6%), malfunction (45%) and other (4.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

break (12.2%), difficult to remove (5.9%), replace (4.8%), device, or device fragments remain in patient (4.4%) and explanted (4.1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

voluntary reports (35.8%) and manufacturer reports (1.8%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Cook was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.