Reported Reactions

Devices › Catheter, intravascular, diagnostic

Device brand name · Picc

V-Cath: medical device reports filed with FDA

175 reports name it, 1994–2007. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Hdc. Product code DQO.

175
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 5 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
14.3%
classified as malfunction
56% across the product code
1.7%
classified as death, as reported
3 reports · not verified by FDA

175 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "V-Cath" (picc); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Hdc; received from January 1994 to March 2007. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (42.3%), other (38.9%) and malfunction (14.3%); across all catheter, intravascular, diagnostic reports (product code DQO) death is recorded in 2.2% and malfunction in 56%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are break (29.7%), difficult to remove (16.6%) and explanted (13.1%). The patient problems coded most often are surgical procedure, foreign body, removal of and therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming V-Cath was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in March 2007.

By year received

014271994: 1019941995: 51996: 919961997: 191998: 1719981999: 72000: 1020002001: 162002: 1620022003: 172004: 920042005: 272006: 1020062007: 3

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.7%3
Injury42.3%74
Malfunction14.3%25
Other38.9%68
Not given2.9%5

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report64.6%113
Voluntary report21.7%38
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given13.7%24

Grey bar: all 20,198 reports carrying product code DQO. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Breakthe device broke5229.7%13.8%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove2916.6%8.7%
Explanted2313.1%4.8%
Fracturea broken bone105.7%7.8%
Replace95.1%5.5%
Leak/splashthe device leaked74%6.2%
Material separation74%9.8%
Detachment of device component63.4%3.8%
Device, removal of (non-implant)63.4%3.1%
Device remains implanted42.3%0.4%
Device, or device fragments remain in patient42.3%2.4%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert42.3%3.5%
Implant, removal of42.3%5.8%
Stretched42.3%0.4%
Sticking31.7%1.9%
Tears, rips, holes in device, device material31.7%1.9%
Tip breakage31.7%3.4%
Fluid/blood leak21.1%2.5%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size21.1%0.1%
Migration or expulsion of device21.1%3.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Surgical procedure4123.4%
Foreign body, removal of3117.7%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional95.1%
Hospitalization required74%
Surgical procedure, additional74%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term31.7%
Nonresorbable materials, unretrieved in body31.7%
Painpain, site not specified31.7%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, aborted/stopped31.7%
Swellingswelling21.1%
Vasculitisinflammation of blood vessels21.1%
Arthritis10.6%
Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection10.6%
Bleeding10.6%
Cellulitisa skin infection10.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureV-CathProduct code DQOAll MAUDE reports
Reports17520,19826,136,888
Share of that pool—0.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports17229
Classified as injury42.3%37.6%36.2%
Classified as malfunction14.3%56%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer64.6%82.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DQO

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Merit Custom Kit1,590130.1%
Ultrasonic Imaging Catheter - Coronary56900%
Trapease Pvcf Fem/Jug 55cm Csi98303.7%
466p306x71701.8%
Renegade30100.3%
Infiniti2671410%
Tempo7211550.7%
Impress Braided Catheter21500%
Impress200251%
Impress Peripheral Catheter18600%
Dragonfly OpStar187880.5%
Arrow830653.4%
Bard1,12421.8%
Trapease Filter165013.9%
Guide Wires37401.6%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about V-Cath reports

How many FDA reports name V-Cath?

175 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (42.3%), other (38.9%) and malfunction (14.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

break (29.7%), difficult to remove (16.6%), explanted (13.1%), fracture (5.7%) and replace (5.1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (64.6%) and voluntary reports (21.7%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that V-Cath was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.