Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained (metal uncemented acetabular component)

Device brand name · Hip component

Conserve R Plus Spiked Cup: medical device reports filed with FDA

377 reports name it, 2010–2018. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Microport Orthopedics. Product code KWA.

377
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 24 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
0.3%
classified as malfunction
3.4% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

377 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Conserve R Plus Spiked Cup" (hip component); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Microport Orthopedics; received from July 2010 to December 2018. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (99.7%) and malfunction (0.3%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained (metal uncemented acetabular component) reports (product code KWA) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 3.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (57.3%), metal shedding debris (9.3%) and loose or intermittent connection (8.2%). The patient problems coded most often are reaction, pain and toxicity. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Conserve R Plus Spiked Cup was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in December 2018.

By year received

0581162010: 520102011: 1620112012: 3820122013: 7420132014: 3820142015: 11620152016: 3720162017: 3220172018: 212018

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury99.7%376
Malfunction0.3%1
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%377
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 138,213 reports carrying product code KWA. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information21657.3%52%
Metal shedding debris359.3%7.6%
Loose or intermittent connection318.2%1.2%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly71.9%1%
Noise, audible61.6%3.2%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material51.3%0.3%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient51.3%0.4%
Compatibility problem41.1%0.1%
Corrodedthe device corroded41.1%2%
Positioning problem41.1%0.1%
Device dislodged or dislocated30.8%5.2%
Detachment of device component20.5%0.1%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove20.5%0.2%
Device contamination with chemical or other material10.3%0.1%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used10.3%0%
Device slipped10.3%1.1%
Fracturea broken bone10.3%1.3%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem10.3%0.2%
Migration or expulsion of device10.3%1%
Naturally worn10.3%6.7%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Reactiona reaction, type not specified18849.9%
Painpain, site not specified11029.2%
Toxicity4311.4%
Foreign body reaction133.4%
Test result133.4%
Ambulation or postural difficulties123.2%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint82.1%
Complaint, ill-defined71.9%
Tissue damage71.9%
Inflammationinflammation61.6%
Osteolysis51.3%
Seromaa collection of fluid under the skin51.3%
Synovitis51.3%
Discomfortdiscomfort41.1%
Swellingswelling41.1%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureConserve R Plus Spiked CupProduct code KWAAll MAUDE reports
Reports377138,21326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports039
Classified as injury99.7%94.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.3%3.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.2%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KWA

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx52od3,720130.1%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx54od2,874110.1%
Asr Acetabular Cups 522,42820.1%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 462,50020.1%
Asr Acetabular Cups 542,35000.4%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 472,42300.4%
Asr Acetabular Cups 562,20600.4%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 492,27800.4%
Asr Acetabular Cups 502,05600.1%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 452,11900.1%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx50od2,06690%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Liners4,8142600.2%
Durom Acetabular Component2,07100.1%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Cup3,2151060.4%
Unknown Depuy Asr Acetabular Cup1,93300.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Conserve R Plus Spiked Cup reports

How many FDA reports name Conserve R Plus Spiked Cup?

377 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (99.7%) and malfunction (0.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (57.3%), metal shedding debris (9.3%), loose or intermittent connection (8.2%), device operates differently than expected (1.9%) and noise, audible (1.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Conserve R Plus Spiked Cup was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.