Reported Reactions

Devices › Pump, infusion

Device brand name · Pump infusion

CADD Solis VIP Pump: medical device reports filed with FDA

3,357 reports name it, 2018–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Smiths Medical Asd. Product code FRN.

3,357
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 443 a year
235
reports, 12 months to August 2026
890 in the 12 months before
99.7%
classified as malfunction
98.5% across the product code
0.1%
classified as death, as reported
4 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 3,357 reports that name the brand "CADD Solis VIP Pump" (pump infusion), received between December 2018 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Smiths Medical Asd. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

235 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 74% from 890 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (99.7%), injury (0.1%) and death (0.1%); across all pump, infusion reports (product code FRN) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 98.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device alarm system (26.6%), device sensing problem (10.3%) and failure to infuse (9.1%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, injury and fatigue. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0104208Sep 2021: 44Oct 2021: 39Nov 2021: 61Dec 2021: 292022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 27Jun 2022: 52Jul 2022: 15Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 12Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 102024Jan 2024: 30Feb 2024: 106Mar 2024: 128Apr 2024: 208May 2024: 131Jun 2024: 73Jul 2024: 51Aug 2024: 85Sep 2024: 133Oct 2024: 176Nov 2024: 159Dec 2024: 982025Jan 2025: 105Feb 2025: 57Mar 2025: 30Apr 2025: 34May 2025: 45Jun 2025: 23Jul 2025: 16Aug 2025: 14Sep 2025: 20Oct 2025: 14Nov 2025: 15Dec 2025: 132026Jan 2026: 6Feb 2026: 16Mar 2026: 22Apr 2026: 22May 2026: 19Jun 2026: 24Jul 2026: 32Aug 2026: 32

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

06891,3782018: 820182019: 45220192020: 39920202021: 43220212022: 9820222023: 3120232024: 1,37820242025: 38620252026: 1732026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.1%4
Injury0.1%5
Malfunction99.7%3,347
Other0%1
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.7%3,348
Voluntary report0.2%8
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%1

Grey bar: all 1,831,109 reports carrying product code FRN. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device alarm system89326.6%2.8%
Device sensing problem34510.3%3.8%
Failure to infuse3069.1%0.4%
Failure to sense2748.2%0.9%
Output problem2186.5%0.3%
Peeled/delaminated1985.9%0.4%
Degraded1865.5%0.1%
Infusion or flow problema problem with flow or infusion1364.1%0.3%
Insufficient flow or under infusion1334%0.8%
Excess flow or over-infusion1233.7%1.2%
Volume accuracy problem1213.6%0.1%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem1143.4%0.3%
Inaccurate delivery1133.4%0.4%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material812.4%0%
Obstruction of flow732.2%0.3%
Defective component641.9%0.1%
Air/gas in device591.8%0.1%
Device difficult to setup or prepare551.6%0%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off521.5%0%
Pumping stopped461.4%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
No patient involvement49714.8%
Injurya physical injury110.3%
Fatiguetiredness40.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20.1%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness20.1%
Headachehead pain20.1%
Low blood pressure/ hypotension20.1%
Painpain, site not specified20.1%
Dyspneashortness of breath10%
Endocarditis10%
Heartburn/indigestion10%
Hypoglycemialow blood sugar10%
Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell10%
Not applicable10%
Overdosea dose above the recommended amount10%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureCADD Solis VIP PumpProduct code FRNAll MAUDE reports
Reports3,3571,831,10926,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports119
Classified as injury0.1%1.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction99.7%98.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.7%99.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FRN

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Alaris Pump Module684,52200%
Alaris System422,50133,6920%
8100 Alaris Pump Module163,62000%
Spectrum Infusion Pump147,363150%
8015 Alaris System Pc Unit54,16200%
Alaris System Pc Unit24,06600%
8110 Alaris Syringe Pump22,43400%
Colleague21,76300%
Reservoir 3ML MMT-332A19,9142,0080.4%
Reservoir 3ml16,40700.8%
Flogard15,66800%
Colleague Volumetric Infusion Pump13,67800.1%
Colleague Pre P1 713,10300%
CADD-Solis VIP Ambulatory Infusion Pump11,7213,4710.1%
Intermate8,261470%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about CADD Solis VIP Pump reports

How many FDA reports name CADD Solis VIP Pump?

3,357 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 235 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (99.7%), injury (0.1%) and death (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device alarm system (26.6%), device sensing problem (10.3%), failure to infuse (9.1%), failure to sense (8.2%) and output problem (6.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.7%) and voluntary reports (0.2%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that CADD Solis VIP Pump was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.